Medina Wins Rip Curl Pro Expression Session

Gabriel Medina

Gabriel Medina en route to a Rip Curl Pro Portugal Expression Session win. Photo: ASP

SUPERTUBOS, Peniche/Portugal (Friday, October 12, 2012) – After assessing conditions throughout the day, event organizers at the Rip Curl Pro Portugal opted to call a lay day, but are however quietly confident of commencing competition tomorrow. The first signs of a new Atlantic swell started to appear at Supertubos this afternoon allowing the 'Buondi Best Move Expression Session' to be staged in front of large crowd of spectators on a pristine Peniche day.

Brazilian teenage sensation and world no.9 Gabriel Medina (BRZ) managed to complete a perfect 'air reverse' in the small but fast breaking waves. The 19-year old said he managed to pick off the best wave of the session to perform the day’s best manouvre and defeat all nine off his opponents.

Event No. 8 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Rip Curl Pro Portugal is a crucial stop for both the hunt for the 2012 ASP World Title as well as the requalification campaigns of the world's best surfers.

Magic Seaweed, official forecaster for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, are calling for:
-Two pulses of swell for the weekend increasing on Saturday afternoon, peaking overnight and dropping through Sunday into Monday.
– Risk of onshore winds later in the weekend and again on Tuesday.
– Large or possibly extremely large swell for later next week with increasing risk of strong Westerly winds.

Up first will be defending event champion Adriano de Souza (BRA), 25, Brett Simpson (USA), 27, and Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 30, in the opening heat of Round 1. Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7:45am to assess conditions for a possible 8am start.

Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Pierre Valentin Laborde (FRA)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

The Rip Curl Pro Portugal will be webcast LIVE via