Invites Announced For 2008 Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational

June 12, 2008: – – The official list of invites for the second annual Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational has been released with the event dates scheduled for September 20-26, 2008.

An ultra perfect right hander located on Surigao Island off the coast of the Philippines, the Cloud 9 event has attracted confirmation from some of the world’s most prolific tube riders, including 2006 Pipeline Master Jamie O’Brien and 1999 World Surfing Champion Mark ‘Occy’ Occhilupo.

An invite to compete in the 2008 competition was made all the more attractive following four days of absolute perfection during the inaugural Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational in 2007.

48 surfers from Hawaii, Japan, Australia, Indonesia, USA and twelve local wildcards will compete in a specialized format, which culminates in man on man heats. What separates the Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational from standard competitive surfing is that invited contestants are involved in deciding what conditions they will surf in.

With only two full days required to finalise the competition and a seven-day competition window, organisers have the luxury to wait for ideal conditions in which to run the event during Cloud 9’s prime swell period. Due to Siargao’s proximity to the Philippines, big swells from the Pacific Ocean roll in from the second deepest stretch of water in the world to create flawlessly hollow waves.

Cloud 9 has been hailed as one of the ten best waves in the world and has been frequently compared to the renowned surf of Hawaii and Indonesia. The Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational is proudly supported by the Provincial Government of Surigao Del Norte with support from the Department of Tourism Philippines.

Further confirmations can be made to  Alternate places will be announced closer to the event.

2008 Billabong Cloud Nine Invitational Confirmed
Ryan Hipwood
Mark Occhilupo
Luke Dorrington
Nick Vasicek
Anthony Walsh
Dave Reardon-Smith
Jason Shibata
Wade Goodall
Ryan Augenstein
Jamie O’Brien
Mark Mathews
Dylan Longbottom
Laurie Towner
Tamaroa McComb
Makua Rothman
Michael Brennan

Yet To Confirm
Made ‘Raditya’ Rhondi
Wayan ‘Betet’ Merta
Richie Vaculik
Evan Faulks
Wyan ‘Kopling’ Wirtima
TJ Barron
Lee Wilson
Tipi Jabrik
Ketut Juliarta ‘Kombong’
Heath Joske
Shane Dorian
Manoa Drollet
Josh Kerr
Rizal Tadjung
Made Adi ‘Bol’ Putra
Pepen Hendrix
Dane Ward
Shinpei Horuchi
Maddison Williams
Tepe Nakijima
+ 12 Local Wildcards