Jake Paterson Wins 2002 ASP World Qualifying Series

Jake Paterson Wins 2002 ASP World Qualifying Series

Thursday, November 21 (Haleiwa, Oahu, Hawaii) Australia’s Jake Patersontoday won the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) 2002 WorldQualifying Series. By reaching the final of the year ending 6-Star VansHawaiian Pro at Haleiwa, Hawaii, he secured enough ratings points to movefrom third into first place, ahead of good friend and fellow Australiantraveling companion Richie Lovett. In doing so, the 29-year-old clinched hissecond WQS crown, after an initial victory in 1996.

Paterson defeated an all-star cast in today’s first semi-final. CurrentWorld Championship Tour (WCT) leader Andy Irons (Haw) placed runner-up, JoelParkinson (Aus) third, and despite locking in a perfect 10-point barrelride, six-time world champion Kelly Slater (USA) was delegated into fourth.The extremely high-scoring match was far and away the heat of thetournament, with all contestants locking in 9+ rides. The West Australianthen finished third in the grand finale, behind 2000 world champion SunnyGarcia (Haw), WCT elect Tom Whitaker (Aus), and ahead of defending eventchampion Irons.

“It’s like I just won the Pipe Masters again (as in 1998),” laughed Patersonafter the win. “The people in that heat were just incredible, and to hearthe crowd hoot after everyone’s waves made you go, ‘wow, what have theydone?’ I was hearing nine’s being called out the whole time. It was crazy!And then Kelly got a 10, so to come out and win… I just don’t know what tothink, those guys are freaks. I want to see it on video!

“I tried my hardest and came out in front,” he continued. “I’m stoked. I wasso relaxed going out there. The waves were so fun. If I didn’t get throughRichie would have won the WQS, so it’s a bummer for him. I’ve traveled withhim all year, but it’s a good win for me. Can’t believe I’ve won the WQStwice now.”

With the WQS tour now decided for 2002, the top 15 place getters havesecured their position in the 2003 elite WCT ranks. Eight (8) more surfersretain a chance of making the cut from their final ratings, pending theeventual outcomes of 10 WCT surfers. If any of them finish within the top 27on the WCT, the list of WQS surfers qualifying will continue down the linerespectively.

Daily releases will be available during the upcoming Rip Curl Cup (Nov24-Dec 7) and Xbox Gerry Lopez Pipeline Masters (Dec 8-20).

A detailed list of those already safely on tour in 2003, as well as thosewho’ll be breathing heavily during the coming weeks, is outlined below.

Official Top 15 WQS positions; surfers guaranteed WCT spots in 2003
1. Jake Paterson (Aus) 11,764-points
2. Richie Lovett (Aus) 11,465
3. Chris Davidson (Aus) 10,689
4. Tom Whittaker (Aus) 10,493
5. Toby Martin (Aus) 10,357
6. Pat O’Connell (USA) 9,960
7. Nathan Webster (Aus) 9,885
8. Luke Stedman (Aus) 9798
9. Victor Ribas (Brz) 9,420
10. Trent Munro (Aus) 9,204
11. Armando Daltro (Brz) 9,180
12. Fabio Gouveia (Brz) 9,095
13. Tim Curran (USA) 8,908
14. Paulo Moura (Brz) 8,793
15. Darren O’Rafferty (Aus) 8,768
Next in line to qualify through WQS ratings if any additional positions arecreated
16. Damien Hobgood (USA) 8,742
17. Danilo Costa (Brz) 8,610
18. Phil MacDonald (Aus) 8,588
19. Ben Bourgeois (USA) 8,520
20. Chris Ward (USA) 8,340
21. Todd Prestage (Aus) 8,300
22. Flavio Padaratz (Brz) 8,295
23. Shane Beschen (USA) 8,285
Those able to qualify in remaining WCT events, thus generating more WQSspots
1. Damien Hobgood (USA)
2. Richie Lovett (Aus)
3. Jake Paterson (Aus)
4. Pat O’Connell (USA)
5. Nathan Webster (Aus)
6. Victor Ribas (Brz)
7. Fabio Gouveia (Brz)
8. Paulo Moura (Brz)
9. Darren O’Rafferty (Aus)
10. Phil MacDonald (Aus)