Keramas Tube Time At Oakley ASP World Pro Junior

Kiron Jabour was a standout in Round 3 of Oakley ASP World Pro Junior competition as the event moved back to the main site of Keramas. Photo courtesy ASP/Robertson

Kiron Jabour was a standout in Round 3 of Oakley ASP World Pro Junior competition as the event moved back to the main site of Keramas. Photo courtesy ASP/Robertson

KERAMAS, Bali/Indonesia (Wednesday, October 6 2010): The Oakley ASP World Pro Junior, event no.1 on the ASP World Junior Tour (WJT), utilised the main venue of Keramas in Bali today, with the eight remaining Round 3 men's heats being completed in 3-4ft (1-1.2m) waves this morning.

After four days at Canggu, Contest Director, Beau Emerton, relocated the high stakes tournament to the famed high performance right-hand break.

And, with the move, the world's best juniors did their best to shell out a potent attack of new-age surfing in the barrelling conditions.

Leading the assault was Dale Staples (ZAF), who beat fellow South African Chad Du Toit (ZAF) with both the day's highest individual wave score (9.80) and two-wave combined total (16.63).

Staples, who groomed his surfing skills at St Francis Bay in South Africa, looked sharp in the clean waves, amassing a 6.83 on his opening ride before slipping into a deep Keramas cavern to emerge with a near perfect 9.80 (out of a possible 10).

"That was such a good barrel," said Staples. "I couldn't really have asked for much more – it was nearly perfect. Hopefully it will be the same tomorrow or if not better."

Hawaiian local Kiron Jabour (HAW), 19, made use of wise wave selection to notch one of the morning's highest combined heat totals (16.50).

Representing Hawaii's next generation, Jabour was full of activity in the opening stages of the 30-minute heat, netting a 7.50 and a 7.27 to setup an early lead from Ty Watson (AUS).

"I was watching before my heat and knew I needed to get a few early scores," he said.

"I saw in earlier heats guys scratching for a second score and I didn't want that to be me. I was really wise with my wave selection."

But Jabour had more up his sleeve, jagging a set wave before stalling and driving through two deep barrels to nail a 9.00 (out of a possible 10).

Jabour finishing with a 16.50 two-wave combined total (out of a possible 20) to easily advance to Round 4.

There he'll meet fellow Hawaiian Alex Smith (HAW), who dispatched of Brendon Gibbens in Round 3.

2010 ASP European Pro Junior champion Charles Martin (GLP) showed superior tube riding skills to down Nic Von Rupp (DEU) – 14.50 to 11.90, in their Round 3 showdown.

"It was pretty fun out there," he said.

"You just have to get the right one and it's the most perfect wave in the world. It's awesome."

Martin, a former ASP World Junior No. 3 (2008) and considered one of France and Europe's best hopes towards a possible ASP World Tour elite inception in the upcoming years, confirmed he's ready to take it up a notch heading into Round 4.

He'll now take on Mitch Crews (AUS), who eliminated no.2 seed Marc Lacomare (FRA), 19, in a low-scoring Round 3 affair.

Reigning ASP Men's World Junior champion Maxime Huscenot (FRA) was also sent packing from the tournament, going down to Evan Thompson (USA) – 14.27 to 12.84, in the second last heat of the round.

The next call will be made at Keramas at 5.30am tomorrow morning, with a possible increase in swell expected.

The Oakley ASP World Pro Junior will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto


Heat 9: Mitch Crews (AUS) 12.17 def. Marc Lacomare (FRA) 11.83
Heat 10: Charles Martin (GLP) 14.50 def. Nic Von Rupp (DEU) 11.90
Heat 11: Kiron Jabour (HAW) 16.50 def. Ty Watson (AUS) 10.94
Heat 12: Alex Smith (HAW) 11.43 def. Brendon Gibbens (ZAF) 8.80
Heat 13: Granger Larsen (HAW) 15.50 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 12.10
Heat 14: Dale Staples (ZAF) 16.63 def. Chad Du Toit (ZAF) 11.83
Heat 15: Evan Thompson (USA) 14.27 def.  Maxime Huscenot (FRA) 12.83
Heat 16: Davey Cathels (AUS) 13.27 def. Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 13.17


Heat 9: Nat Young (USA) vs. Tyler Newton (HAW)
Heat 10: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 11: Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Shaun Joubert (ZAF)
Heat 12: Krystian Kymerson (BRA) vs. Conner Coffin (USA)
Heat 13: Mitch Crews (AUS) vs. Charles Martin (GLP)
Heat 14: Kiron Jabour (HAW) vs. Alex Smith (HAW)
Heat 15: Granger Larsen (HAW) vs. Dale Staples (HAW)
Heat 16: Evan Thompson (USA) vs. Davey Cathels (AUS)


QF 1: Sage Erickson (USA) vs. Malia Manuel (HAW)
QF 2: Alizee Arnaud (FRA) vs. Laura Enever (AUS)
QF 3: Diana Cristina (BRA) vs. Airini Mason (NZL)
QF 4: Lakey Peterson (USA) vs. Tyler Wright (AUS)