King Of The Peak’s Reign Reaches Tenth Year

Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 (Sebastian Inlet, FL) Quiksilver proudly announces the 10th Annual King of the Peak to be held November 6-7 at the famed Sebastian Inlet. The innovative surfing event features 96 of the best competitors from the United States’ East Coast as well as a handful of visitors from abroad. With a $10,000 total prize purse, competitors are eligible to receive $300 for every heat they surf.

King of the Peak utilizes a progressive “Skins”  format whereby surfers are scored on only one wave per heat, a system that encourages quality over quantity. Each heat winner progresses to another heat in an effort to rack up as many skins, or heat wins, as possible. At the conclusion of the competition, the surfer with the most skins is deemed King of the Peak. The prestigious crown has remained in Florida each year despite several worthy challenges by visiting surfers. Past monarchs include world champions Kelly Slater and C.J. Hobgood, as well as Sebastian royalty Bryan Hewitson, Todd Morcom, Bill Hartley, and David Speir. Fernandina Beach’s Eric Hatton is thus far the sole non-Brevard County surfer to take the crown.

Hatched in 1995 by Slater and Contest Director Matt Kechele as a means of raising money for their alma mater Cocoa Beach High School, the Quiksilver King of the Peak has grown to become the most prestigious event along the Eastern Seaboard. Kechele, himself still regarded among the Inlet elite, has garnered a reputation for drawing contestable, sometimes epic surf as well as attracting the most talented surfers around. This tenth installment of the event promises to deliver another blockbuster battle for Sebastian supremacy, earning one valiant rider a healthy fortune and a year’s worth of bragging rights.

For event info and competitor entry forms, go to

The Quiksilver Crossing’s Indies Trader is making it’s voyage down the Mississippi River to Nawlans. Checkout for details…