Kona Pro Jax Event Highlights

Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax
Kona Pro Jax

The Kona Pro Jax is Jacksonville, Florida’s premier professional surfing contest, brought to you by Kona Brewing Company and presented by Mellow Mushroom. This year's event was held November 3-4 in clean, 2-3 foot surf at the Jacksonville Beach Pier and as always featured the East Coast's most talented surfers.

The event's $20,000 Open Pro purse made it the largest professional surfing event in the state of Florida and the third largest on the East Coast.

A few words with Men’s Pro winner, Jesse Heilman:

“This is the biggest event win for me in my career thus far. Considering we don't have any ASP rated events in FL, contests like these are so important to the surf community here, and that's what really makes winning this special. Not to mention the timing of this contest. Everyone was all smiles all weekend even considering the less than ideal conditions. We had all just scored the best week of surf in Florida’s recent history, and were enjoying one of the last few weekends of warm beach weather for the year. This is definitely a special win for me, and I want to thank everyone who was a part of it: The Void Live crew for being the raddest contest directors ever, Travis and Dane-O on the mic, Mike Bloom, Kona Brewing Company, and Mellow Mushroom for ensuring the celebration continued well into the night. I can't wait for next year!”

Full results below:


1st Jesse Heilman $7,000 + $500 (Western Atlantic Surf Series)
2nd Michael Dunphy $3,500
3rd Evan Thompson $2,000
4th Ryan Briggs $1,200

=5th Asher Nolan $900
=5th Jeremy Johnston $900

=7th Blake Jones $600
=7th Tristan Thompson $600

=9th Cody Thompson $400
=9th Oliver Kurtz $400
=9th Chris Tucker $400
=9th Kyle Garson $400

=13th Nils Schweizer $300
=13th Chris Duff $300
=13th Aaron Cormican $300
=13th Keto Burns $300


1st Noah Schweizer $1,000
2nd Tanner Strohmenger $500
3rd Jake McGuire $300
4th Dustin Richardson (DQ)