Lay Day For Billabong Rio Pro

Silvana Lima

Silvana Lima

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil (Friday, May 13, 2011) – Competition has been called off for the Billabong Rio Pro today, with minimal surf and stormy conditions on offer at Barra Da Tijuca.

Stop No. 3 of 11 on the Men’s ASP World Title Season and 5 of 7 for the women, the Billabong Rio Pro kicked off action yesterday with the start of women's competition and saw the event's top seeds lead the pack through Rounds 1 and 2 while hunting down this year's elite Brazilian event title.

"We only have small one-foot storm surf on offer so competition will be off for both the men and women today," Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. "We'll return tomorrow morning for a 7am call."

When men's competition begins, 2010 ASP Rookie of the year Owen Wright (AUS), 21, will surf against Heitor Alves (BRA), 29, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 28, in Heat 1.

When women's competition resumes, crowd favorite Silvana Lima (BRA), 26, will take on ASP Women's World Tour rookie Tyler Wright (AUS), 17, and Kauai native Alana Blanchard (HAW), 21, in the first heat of Round 3.

Billabong Rio Pro organizers will reconvene at 7am local time tomorrow for a possible 7:30am start.

The Billabong Rio Pro men's waiting period runs from May 11 through 22 while the women's window is from May 12 through 16. To watch the event LIVE log on to

For additional ASP information log on to

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match Ups:
Heat 1: Owen Wright (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), TBA
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), TBA
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), TBA
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Julian Wilson (AUS), TBA
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Chris Davidson (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)

Billabong Rio Pro Women's Round 3 Match Ups:
Heat 1: Silvana Lima (BRA), Tyler Wright (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Paige Hareb (NZL)
Heat 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Laura Enever (AUS)

Billabong Rio Pro
Stop No. 3 of 11 on the men's ASP World Tour
Stop No. 5 of 7 on the Women's ASP World Tour
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
May 11 – 22, 2011