Lay Day For O’Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland

THURSO, Brims Ness, Scotland (Friday, May 1, 2009) – The third day of the ASP WQS 6-Star Prime O'Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland by Swatch was called off after several hours of patience with hopes of seeing Brims Ness deliver consistent waves, which did not happen. The expected decrease of swell did not allow any competition and with promising wave forecasts announcing a possible classic day at Thurso East tomorrow, everyone will be ready to fire once the 6 AM call is made. Six heats only remain before Round 1 wraps up and event top seeds paddle out to get on with their 2009 Scottish quest.

The event waiting period runs until Wednesday, May 6, 2009 and offers more ratings' points up for grabs than a regular ASP WQS 6-Star event with valuable 3500 points going to the winner of this year's edition. Since the O'Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland by Swatch launched in 2006, it has witnessed some of the most consistent surf conditions on tour and past champions Russell Winter (GBR, 2006), Nathan Hedge (AUS, 2007) and Adam Robertson (AUS, 2008) will all soon paddle out to try and get a second crown.

Much expected for his start in the competition tomorrow will be ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) current leader Owen Wright (New South Wales, AUS), 18, who has been dominating the year so far with no less than three consecutive ASP Junior Series wins in Australia, an equal 3rd place finish in the O'Neill Cold Water Classic Tasmania and a runner-up finish at last week's ASP WQS 6-Star Prime Quiksilver Pro Durban.

Also awaited for his start in the Scottish waters will be current ASP WQS European Tour leader Joan Duru (Ondres, FRA), 20, who has made a clear statement of his will to try and qualify for next year's ASP World Tour. Duru, who won the ASP WQS 4-Star Protest Vendee Pro in France in April and placed equal 9th in Portugal last week, remains France's next best hope towards an elite ASP Top 45 inception and will try to better his equal 9th place finish in the O'Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland last year.

Another call will be made at 6 AM tomorrow Saturday. Don't miss any of the action and log on first thing to watch the LIVE webcast at with Great Britain's renowned surfer and O'Neill team rider Sam Lamiroy grabbing the mic for what could be a day to remember.

Visit for latest news and daily video highlights.


Heat 1: Drew Courtney (AUS), Dale Lovelock (AUS), Eneko Acero (EUK), Jayce Robinson (GBR)
Heat 2: Joao Guedes (PRT), Jarrad Howse (AUS), Alex Gray (USA), Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Heat 3: Yadin Nicol (AUS), Patrick Beven (FRA), John John Florence (HAW), Yujiro Tsuji (JPN)
Heat 4: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Jorge Spanner (BRA), Nick White (NZL), Jay Davies (AUS)
Heat 5: Joan Duru (FRA), Brent Dorrington (AUS), Simon Marchand (FRA), Omer Bar (ISR)
Heat 6: Jack Perry (AUS), Hira Teriinatoofa (PYF), Marco Giorgi (URY), Heath Joske (AUS)
Heat 7: Luke Campbell (AUS), Nathan Hedge (AUS), Michael Bailey (USA), Angelo Lozano (MEX)
Heat 8: Brandon Jackson (ZAF), Eric Rebiere (FRA), Oli Adams (GBR), Matt Mohagen (USA)
Heat 9: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Clancy Dawson (AUS), Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK), Gordon Fontaine (FRA)
Heat 10: Yuri Sodre (BRA), Blake Wilson (AUS), Love Hodel (HAW), Matt Capel (GBR)
Heat 11: Hugo Savalli (REU), Rhys Bombaci (AUS), Madison Williams (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 12: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Justin Mujica (PRT), Txaber Trojaola (EUK), Freddie Meadows (SWE)
Heat 13: Adam Melling (AUS), Ruben Gonzales (PRT), Dylan Melamed (HAW), Brandon Roberts (ZAF)
Heat 14: Shaun Gossmann (AUS), Renato Galvao (BRA), Lincoln Taylor (AUS), Alek Parker (USA)
Heat 15: Hodei Collazo (EUK), Jean Sebastien Estienne (BLM), Russell Winter (GBR), Damien Chaudoy (REU)
Heat 16: Glenn Hall (IRE), Christophe Allary (REU), Izuki Tanaka (JPN), TBA
Heat 17: Gony Zubizarreta (ESP), Rowan Aish (NZL), Joaquim Guichard (DNK), TBA
Heat 18: Brian Toth (PRI), Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF), TBA, TBA
Heat 19: Romain Cloitre (REU), Royden Bryson (ZAF), TBA
Heat 20: Masatoshi Ohno (JPN), Jose Maria Cabrera (CNY), Romain Laulhe (FRA), TBA
Heat 21: Leonardo Neves (BRA), Jarrad Sullivan (AUS), Blake Howard (USA), TBA
Heat 22: Blake Thornton (AUS), Mark Mathews (AUS), Joao Gutemberg (BRA), TBA
Heat 23: Andre Silva (BRA), Adam Robertson (AUS), TBA, TBA
Heat 24: Owen Wright (AUS), Diego Rosa (BRA), Miguel Ximenes (PRT), TBA