MADA’s Bede Durbidge Finishes Runner Up At The 2008 Bells Competition

Mada would like to congratulate the 2008 Bells runner up Bede Durbidge. Bede surfed an amazing event, at the second stop of the 08 WCT season. Bede surfed his way from the round two “Do or Die round” all the way to the Finals where he met up with eight time world champ Kelly Slater. In his route to the final Bede took down Nathan Hedge, Freddy Patacchia, Dayyan Neve, Joel Parkinson and an in rhythm Bobby Martinez. In the final, Bede took control as he did the whole contest until the dying minutes of the heat. Kelly Slater just barely edged out Durbidge, in a final score of 15.63 to Bede’s 15.16.

After the second stop of the year, Bede is sitting right behind World #1 Kelly Slater. When asking Mada owner Vince De La Pena on Bede’s performance in the Bells event, Vince replies, “I am blown away at the level of Bede’s surfing. We could not have a bigger asset than Bede Durbidge. This has never happened to a brand of our size to pick up a surfer at the talent level of Bede. He is in serious contention for the World Title. We are so proud of Bede and know he will continue to blow minds.”

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Final Results:
Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.63 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 15.16

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Semifinal Results:
Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 14.50 def. Bobby Martinez (USA) 4.50
Heat 2: Kelly Slater (USA) 12.33 def. Taj Burrow (BRA) 7.96

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Quarterfinal Results:
Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.00 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.33
Heat 2: Bobby Martinez (USA) 17.33 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 10.67
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 17.33 def. Dane Reynolds (USA) 10.67
Heat 4: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.34 def. Andy Irons (HAW) 2.80

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Round 4 Results:
Heat 7: Kelly Slater (USA) 16.03 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 15.60
Heat 8: Andy Irons (HAW) 16.57 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 12.53

Ratings after Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach – Event No. 2 on the ASP World Tour
1. Kelly Slater (USA) 2400 points
2. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 1908 points
3. Mick Fanning (AUS) 1764 points
4. Taj Burrow (AUS) 1476 points
4. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 1476 points
6. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 1464 points
6. Andy Irons (HAW) 1464 points
8. Bobby Martinez (USA) 1286 points
9. Kai Otton (AUS) 1200 points
9. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 1200 points