Micah Byrne Wins Event #3 Of SR Surf Series

Micah Byrne in winning form. Photo: Tull

Micah Byrne in winning form. Photo: Tull

Mission Beach, CA (April 14, 2010) – Event #3 of the $100,000 Surf Ride Pro-Am Freedom Surf Series presented by Vans concluded last weekend at Mission Beach.  After making the Finals of the first two event stops, Micah Byrne (Huntington Beach) claimed the event victory with a nearly flawless performance and overtook the series lead.

Byrne, a seasoned competitor currently ranked #2 on the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) North America World Qualifying Series (WQS), was joined in the Pro Division Final by standouts Michel Flores (San Clemente), Sean Marceron (Leucadia), and Roger Eales (San Diego), who finished second, third and fourth, respectively. Although each surfed extremely well, none could stop a rampaging Byrne who secured the win (and $5,000 payout) by scoring a perfect 10 in the Final.

"Early on in the contest a lot of the top guys lost, and I was still going," said Byrne.  "So I knew this would be a good time to get as good of a result as possible to take the pressure off going into the Championship. I'm looking forward to the Championship event, which should be crazy this year with so much money on the line.  I think a lot more people are going to do it, and everyone will be surfing twice as hard."

Byrne joins elite surfers and previous event winners Chris Waring (Seal Beach), who won event #1 at Ocean Beach, and former ASP World Tour surfer Timmy Reyes (Huntington Beach, CA), who captured event #2 at Huntington Beach.

Byrne also moved to the top of the Pro Division series points leader board with 2,539 points heading into the Season Championship. Teddy Navarro is in second place with 1,815.6 points, followed by Timmy Reyes in third with 1,810 points, Anthony Petruso in fourth with 1,742.7 points and Chris Waring in fifth with 1,716.7.

With the final event DOUBLE POINT rated, the series is still  anyone's game.

The final event will take place May 8-9 at the Oceanside Pier where the Series winners will be crowned and huge cash and prizes will be awarded – $10,000 for the winner of the Surf Ride Pro-Am Season Championships and $10,000 for the Pro Division points leader.  Visit Freedom.Surfride.com for more information.

The future of surfing also lit up Mission Beach – in the Junior Division young gun Derek Peters (Huntington Beach) claimed first place and a $750 Surf Ride store credit.

The talent heavy Final fueled by Southern Californian talent also included Colin Moran (Costa Mesa), Taylor Clark (Encinitas) and Trevor Thornton (San Clemente), all of whom are members of the elite Surfing America USA Surf Team.

“I was really stoked to make it into the Junior’s Final and knew all the other guys out there were very capable of winning,” said Peters. “I managed to grab a solid score about 10 minutes into the Final and then paddled a bit deeper looking for a set. Thankfully a good one came my way and it ended up being an 8.”

Mission Beach also saw the Family Division competitors, from Super Grom to Masters, surf extremely well and enjoy a delicious carne asada BBQ compliments of the generous folks at Vans.  Family Division competitors will enjoy huge welcome packs and get a chance at thousands in Surf Ride store credits and prizes at the Season Championship May 8-9 in Oceanside.

For complete results, season standings and online registration for the Series Championship May 8-9 in Oceanside, check out: Freedom.Surfride.com.

For photos from event #3 at Mission Beach

The Surf Ride $100,000 Pro-Am Freedom Surf Series is proudly presented by Vans. Special thanks go out to additional sponsors Dakine, Cliff Bar, Dragon Optics, Watermans Applied Science, Kicker Audio, Bubble Gum Wax, Billabong Camps and TRANSWORLD SURF, without whom this event would not be possible. Partial proceeds will be presented to the Camp Pendleton Kids After School Surf Club provided for youth living on base.