Monday Lay Day For Billabong Pipe Masters

Taylor Knox will face off against Michel Bourez in Heat 11 of Round 3. Photo courtesy ASP/Scholtz

Taylor Knox will face off against Michel Bourez in Heat 11 of Round 3. Photo courtesy ASP/Scholtz

PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii (Monday, December 13, 2010) – The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final jewel of the Vans Triple Crown (an ASP Specialty Series), has been called off again today with only small one-to-two foot (.5 metre) surf prevailing at Pipeline.

"We have uncontestable surf again at Pipeline today and unfortunately we'll have to call the contest off for the fifth day in a row," Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. "Although we're not expecting swell until Wednesday, we'll still return tomorrow morning to assess conditions."

The Billabong Pipe Masters launched in to action on the opening day of the waiting period and saw two-time Vans Triple Crown Champion Joel Parkinson (AUS), 29, move one step closer to clinching his third ASP Specialty Series Title by winning his Round 2 Heat.

Parkinson will take on Owen Wright (AUS), 20, in Heat 2 of Round 3.

Although the Billabong Pipe Masters is not expecting to see classic Pipeline conditions for the remainder of the waiting period, the event should host the world's best surfers in a high-performance showdown as early as Wednesday.

In addition to the men's competition, the world's best female surfers will also take to the water at Pipeline for the first time in Vans Triple Crown history in a one-heat battle, the Vans Duel for the Jewel, to crown the Women's Vans Triple Crown Champion. Current ratings leader Tyler Wright (AUS), 16, will battle four-time ASP Women's World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 22, and Hawaiians Coco Ho (HAW), 19, and Alana Blanchard (HAW), 20, when competition resumes.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 8am start.

When competition resumes, up first will be defending Billabong Pipe Masters Champion Taj Burrow (AUS), 32, against Matt Wilkinson (AUS), 22,in the opening heat of Round 3.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pipe Masters, are predicting a small but contestable swell will hit Pipeline Wednesday and Thursday, which should allow for a high-performance finish to the event.

The Billabong Pipe Masters holds a waiting period from December 8 through 20th and is webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto


Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 4: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. John John Florence (HAW)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 8: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 9: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. David Wassell (HAW)
Heat 10: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)