New At NSSA Nationals This Year: The No Fear Lounge

CARLSBAD, CA (June 6, 2008) — As the title sponsor for the NSSA championship series, No Fear is busting out new incentives and rewarding activities that are sure to keep the nation’s top amateur surfers fired up during NSSA Nationals, June 18 – 28 at Salt Creek and Lower Trestles.

For the first time in NSSA history, the winners of the Open Mens and Open Womens divisions will take home a nice chunk of change. In addition to bragging rights and the prestigious Governor’s Cup trophies, the Open Mens champ will walk away with $5,000; the Open Womens champ will pocket a cool $2,000 courtesy of No Fear.

Also new for this year’s Nationals, competitors in Open Mens and Open Womens will pick up an instant cash payout for every heat win; $50 in the Open Mens division and $25 per heat win in the Open Women’s class.

Chillin’ in the No Fear Lounge
Beginning June 24th, the No Fear Lounge at the Lower Trestles contest site will be the place to be in between heats. Surfers can grab free No Fear Energy drinks or refreshing shave ice, and watch high-energy surf videos on the plasma widescreen TV. Competitors will also be able to view—for the first time—a live web cast of the NSSA Nationals’ action on the widescreen. According to No Fear Vice President, Britt Galland, the activity that will definitely create the biggest buzz in the lounge will be the $25,000 No Fear dice game.”  

$25 Grand on the Table
“Each time NSSA competitors advance out of their heats, they will get to roll the special set of No Fear dice,” Galland said. “The first NSSA competitor to spell out “NO FEAR” with a single roll of the lettered dice will win $25,000. We had a few close calls last year, but nobody won the big prize.”

This year marks the second year of No Fear’s title sponsorship commitment to the NSSA Championship Series. The series includes the Interscholastic State Championships, East Coast and West Coast Championships, plus the NSSA Nationals, which consistently showcases the very best scholastic amateur surfers in the nation—including the Hawaiian Islands.

Each year, over 1,000 surfers don their brightly colored contest jerseys in hopes of capturing an NSSA National Title. Many top World Championship Tour (WCT) surfers are former NSSA National Champs, including Kelly Slater, Andy Irons, Bobby Martinez, Damien Hobgood, Taylor Knox, Cory Lopez, Bruce Irons, CJ Hobgood, Fred Patacchia, and Chris Ward.

For more information on the 2008 NSSA National Championships at Salt Creek and Lower Trestles, surf over to To check out the latest news, sponsored athletes and products from No Fear, visit