Nike US Open Of Surfing All Stars Named; Vote For The Last Slot

2011 Nike US Open of Surfing

It’s getting close to that time of the year again—that time of the year when hundreds of thousands pack the sand and pier in Huntington Beach to watch the best surfers in the world battle it out for $100,000. And over the last few years the World Pro Surfers All Star Event has gotten lots of attention as well amidst the controlled chaos that is the Nike US Open of Surfing. Just like Majaor League Baseball’s Homerun Derby and the NBA’s Slam Dunk Contest, the WPS All Star event recognizes the world’s top surfers and lets them showcase their talents for you. Nine wildcards were named today for the event, with the last remaining spot to be determined by you, the people. Here’s the list:

1. Kelly Slater
2. Dane Reynolds
3. Jordy Smith
4. Taj Burrow
5. Mick Fanning
6. Joel Parkinson
7. Julian Wilson
8. Rob Machado
9. Andy Irons (honorary)
10. _______________

To determine the tenth and final spot they’re hold All Star voting until June 27th on the US Open’s Facebook page here. The top vote getter (minus the names listed above) will receive the final wildcard spot for the WPS All Star Event at this year’s US Open. Some of the top names on the ballot now include Dusty Payne, Brett Simpson, CJ Hobgood, Josh Kerr, Michel Bourez, Owen Wright, Bobby Martinez, Clay Marzo, John Florence, Craig Anderson, Matt Wilkinson, and more. So make your voice be heard and help pick the people’s choice.