Oakley Newport Beach Pro Is On In Increasing Swell

Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) North America

Oakley Newport Beach Pro, ASP WQS 2-Star
Oakley Pro Junior, ASP Grade-2
Newport Beach, California, United States of America
September 16-21, 2008

NEWPORT BEACH, California (Wednesday, September 17, 2008) – Round 3 of the Oakley Newport Beach Pro, an Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 2-Star event, is on in increasing two-to-four foot surf. Today's swell is expected to increase throughout the day and will see the completion of Round 3 (the Round of 96) as well as Round 1 of ASP Grade-2 Oakley Pro Junior.

The Oakley Newport Beach Pro and the Oakley Pro Junior represents the second stop on the Macy's Trifecta California Surf Series. The miniseries contains three events for both ASP WQS and ASP North America Pro Junior competitors and offers an addition prize purse to the series winner at year's end.

The Oakley Newport Beach Pro is the seventh of nine events held in North America and the Oakley Pro Junior is the ninth of 10. Today's action will see ASP North America Pro Junior Series ratings leader Cory Arrambide (Ventura, CA), 19, hit the water in the men's event.

For all of the LIVE action log on to www.newportbeachpro.com

For additional information log on to www.aspworldtour.com  or www.aspnorthamerica.org

Upcoming Oakley Newport Beach Pro Round 3 heats:

Round of 96: (1st and 2nd advance)
Heat 1: Travis Beckman (USA), Kai Barger (HAW), Dillon Perillo (USA), Colin Schildhauer (USA)
Heat 2: Sean Marceron (USA), Cody Thompson (USA), Jason Harris (USA), Quinn McCrystal (HAW)
Heat 3: Dane Johnson (USA), John Daniels (USA), Matt Meola (HAW), Kekoa Cazimero (HAW)
Heat 4: Jason Miller (USA), Tommy O'Brien (USA), Justin Swartz (USA), Scott Posner (USA)
Heat 5: Matt Mohagen (USA), Kyle Ramey (HAW), Danny Estes (USA), Jensen Callaway (USA)
Heat 6: Tony Adams (USA), Chris Dennis (TTO), Macy Mullen (HAW), Chris Abad (USA)
Heat 7: Brent Reilly (USA), Eric McHenry (USA), Albee Layer (HAW), Tommy Bursian (PRI)
Heat 8: Wesley Larsen (HAW), Brandon Guilmette (USA), Brett Barley (USA), Danny Fuller (HAW)
Heat 9: Dylan Melemed (HAW), Rylan McCart (USA), Victor Done (USA), Andrew Gesler (USA)
Heat 10: Noi Kaulukukui (USA), Nat Young (USA), Austin Smith-Ford (USA), Dane Zaun (USA)
Heat 11: Micah Byrne (USA), Michael Hoisington (USA), Sean Hayes (USA), Nick Rupp
Heat 12: Blake Jones (USA), Kellen Ellison (USA), Eddie Lester (USA), Leif Engstrom (USA)
Heat 13: Bud Freitas (USA), Cory Arrambide (USA), Conner Coffin (USA), Dege O'Connell (HAW)
Heat 14: Ian Rotgans (USA), Dane Ward (USA), Evan Valiere (HAW), Bruno Rodrigues (USA)
Heat 15: Matt Keenan (USA), Ryan Briggs (USA), Andrew Doheny (USA), Matt Johnson (USA)
Heat 16: Kevin Kapsky (HAW), Ted Navarro (USA), Phillip Goold (USA), Adam Lambert (USA)