Oakley World Pro Jr gets going with some ladies action

Widely regarded by many, especially me, as the greatest place on the entire planet, Bali is the site of the annual Oakley World Pro Jr, the first of 3 stops that decide the ASP World Jr Champion. Of the infinite list of surf spots on the island, this contest is concentrated on Keramas and Canggu, two of the more consistent and well known spots that flank Kuta Beach a couple miles off in both directions.

Today is day one of the 12 day waiting period for the event, and with a slow building swell filling in, the decision was made to run day one of the ladies side of the contest at Canggu, a series of sandy-rocky peaks a couple miles down the beach from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and the Bukit peninsula.

Aussie Dimity Stoyle turned in the performance of the day in the final heat, tallying an impressive 18.06 out of 20 with a convincing display of surfing. Look for competition to resume tomorrow morning, with either the men’s or women’s heats on tap.

Heat 1: Joanne Defay (FRA) 13.43, Gabriela Leite (BRA) 12.90, Sarah Mason (NZL) 7.16
Heat 2: Coco Ho (HAW) 11.67, Faye Zoetmulder (ZAF) 7.23, Juliana Meneghel (BRA) 6.67
Heat 3: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF) 11.50, Quincy Davis (USA) 10.03, Alessa Quizon (HAW) 9.17
Heat 4: Maud Le Car (FRA) 7.36, Lani Doherty (HAW) 6.90, Diah Dewi Rahayu (IND) 1.30
Heat 5: Felicity Palmateer (AUS) 13.27, Nao Omura (JPN) 6.14, Ren Hashimoto (JPN) 3.67
Heat 6: Dimity Stoyle (AUS) 18.06, Philippa Anderson (AUS) 14.33, Leila Hurst (HAW) 11.50

Heat 1: Garrett Parkes (AUS), Dean Bowen (AUS), Noa Deane (AUS)
Heat 2: Marco Fernandez (BRA), Kaito Ohashi (JPN), Slade Prestwich (ZAF)
Heat 3: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Joao Abreu (BRA), William Aliotti (FRA)
Heat 4: Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Thomas Woods (AUS), Gustavo Machado (BRA)
Heat 5: Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Chase Wilson (USA), Jake Halstead (USA)
Heat 6: Ian Gouveia (BRA), Evan Thompson (USA), Kan Watanabe (JPN)
Heat 7: Caio Ibelli (BRA), Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Deivid Silva (BRA)
Heat 8: Jack Freestone (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), Ida Bagus Putu Simarai (IDN)
Heat 9: Ryan Callinan (AUS), Andrew Doheny (USA), Hiroto Arai (JPN)
Heat 10: Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Arashi Kato (JPN), Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF)
Heat 11: Medi Veminardi (REU), Kaishu Tanaka (JPN), Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 12: Davey Cathels (AUS), Vasco Ribeiro (PRT), Matt Banting (AUS)
Heat 13: Shaun Joubert (ZAF), Dylan Goodale (HAW), Italo Ferreira (BRA)
Heat 14: Nat Young (USA), Keanu Asing (HAW), Darmaputra Tonjo (IDN)
Heat 15: Dale Staples (ZAF), Eziekel Lau (HAW), Mateia Hiquily (PYF)
Heat 16: Frederico Morais (PRT), Keala Naihe (HAW), Michael February (ZAF)