O’Neill Repeats At PacSun’s Battle Of The Brands; Transworld SURF Takes Media Division


Transworld SURF upsets Surfing Magazine in media division

San Juan Capistrano, Calif. – June 21, 2008 – Surfing America, the National
Governing Body for the sport of surfing in the United States, is pleased to
announce the results of the second annual PacSun’s Battle of the Brands.
This unique event kicked off Go211 Live at the Honda U.S. Open Surfing
Stadium on the south side of the Huntington Beach Pier in two-to-three-foot
southern hemisphere surf.

Team O’Neill, consisting of Pat Gudauskas, Tanner Gudauskas, Malia Manuel
and Nat Young, took down the six-team field at the event, which benefited
the PacSun USA Surf Team.  Since many top pros were in town for the Go211
Live featuring the Honda U.S. Open of Surfing presented by O’Neill, this
specialty event was chock full of talent from Billabong, Rip Curl, Hurley,
.Lost, O’Neill, and Quiksilver.

Each team consisted of two pros, a woman and a grom who put on their gloves
in a tag-team format.  There was also a specialty media division consisting
of employees from Surfline, Surfer, Surfing, Transworld SURF, and Fuel TV.
At the end of the fun-filled day, O’Neill and Transworld SURF walked away
with some serious bragging rights that likely won’t be challenged until next

For their win, O’Neill gets a weekend window take-over in PacSun’s stores
across America in Spring 2009.  Transworld SURF will get a $10,000 ad buy
from PacSun.

“It was the second year and this event has become everything we hoped it
would be,” said Surfing America Executive Director Mike Gerard.  “While the
surf brands are highly competitive in their business, the group,
collectively, is a tribe of its own.  Seeing everyone come together and
‘battle’ in support of the USA Surf Team is symbolic of what this initiative
is all about.”


1 – O’Neill (Pat Gudauskas, Tanner Gudauskas, Malia Manuel, Nat Young)
2 – Quiksilver (Julian Wilson, Tyler Newton, Sally Fitzgibbons, Kiron
3 – Hurley (Brett Simpson, Yadin Nicol, Daise Shayne, Evan Geiselman)
4 – …Lost (Mason Ho, James Wood, Leilani Gryde, Riley Metcalf)

1 – Transworld SURF
2 – Surfing
3 – Fuel TV
4 – Surfline
5 – Surfer