PacSun USA Surf Team Heads To France For The 2008 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships

Surf Industry supports our Nation’s top junior surfers at send-off lunch in Huntington Beach, CA

San Juan Capistrano, Calif. – May 23, 2008 – Surfing America, the national governing body for surfing in the USA, is proud to send the best Under 18 surfers in the country to compete for ISA medals in France at the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships.

“The PacSun USA Surf Team is ready,” said Mike Gerard, Surfing America executive director and ISA vice president. “Coach Joey Buran put together a training regime that was light years ahead of anything we’ve ever done. The kids are extremely focused and prepared to perform at their absolute best. Regardless of the end result, Surfing America is very proud of each and every one of them.”

The team of twelve athletes plus alternates were treated to a special send-off luncheon at Duke’s Restaurant in Huntington Beach today thanks to title sponsor PacSun. A large number of surf media, industry executives and supporters were in attendance to wish our athletes well.

The team, which has been training since October under Head Coach Joey Buran, departed for France on Wednesday, May 21st. The competition runs from May 24 – June 1, 2008 at Plage du Penon, Seignosse, just outside of Hossegor.

“As a team, we have worked very hard to prepare for this opportunity and we are ready,” said Buran. “I believe that we have a really great team and have the potential to win the team gold medal.”

Surfing America is pleased to welcome back FCS, who has returned as a Supporting Supplier for the second year in a row. FCS will equip the entire PacSun USA Surf Team with their quality backpacks and board bags, as well as granting team members access to their entire line of innovative products including leashes, grip, and fins.  

The following athletes, listed by division will travel to France to compete in the 2008 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships.

Under 18 Boys
Nat Young
Dillon Perillo
Dane Zaun
Chase Wilson
1st Alternate: Quinn McCrystal

Under 16 Boys
Andrew Doheny
Conner Coffin
Kolohe Andino
Luke Davis
1st Alternate: Nathan Carvalho

Under 18 Girls
Courtney Conlogue
Sage Erickson
Amy Nicholl
Demi Boelsterli
1st Alternate: Kaleigh Gilchrist

Additional alternates include Chase Brady, Taylor Thorne, Sara Taylor, and Keenan Lineback.

Keep up with the team’s progress at