Panama To Host 2012 ISA World Juniors

Gabriel Medina from the dangerous Team Brazil. Photo courtesy ISA.

Gabriel Medina from the dangerous Team Brazil. Photo courtesy ISA.

Panama To Host The 2012 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship

Central America will see the world's best junior surfers compete for their National Teams in the tenth edition of the largest junior surf contest in the world

The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce that the 2012 edition of the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, the largest junior surf competition in the world, will be held in Panama from Saturday, April 14 until Sunday, April 22.

Nearly 300 of the world's best juniors from 35 countries will meet in Panama for the tenth edition of what has become the greatest indicator of tomorrow's surfing elite, and the path for the champions to the world pro tour.

Some of today's finest pro tour surfers, including two ASP World Champions, were yesterday's top contenders in the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship including Jordy Smith (RSA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Owen Wright (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson André (BRA) and Gabriel Medina (BRA) on the men's side; and Carissa Moore (HAW, 2011 ASP Women's World Champion), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS, 4x ASP Women's World Champion), Coco Ho (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Alana Blanchard (HAW), Tyler Wright (AUS) and Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) on the women's side. All are former participants that have placed high in previous editions of this ISA signature event and are now part of the ASP World Tour surfing elite.

Both the ISA and the Panamanian Tourism Authority are thrilled to announce the destination of next year’s event after receiving several attractive bid options for 2012. ISA President Fernando Aguerre stated, "The surf in Panama is exceptional, and after having great success with the 2011 World Surfing Games (Playa Venao) and the 2010 World Masters Surfing Championship (Santa Catalina), we are eager to bring our Junior World Championship to the perfect, rippable waves and tropical weather of Panama. The ISA is looking forward to a great ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in 2012 at this surfing paradise."

The ISA is proud to partner again with organizer and local surfer Patrick Castagnet and his wife and business partner, Tuti de Leon, for the third year in a row to make this event possible. The Directors of Surf Box said, "The ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is by far the greatest and most prestigious junior surfing event in the sport. We are proud to welcome nearly 300 of the world's hottest Under 18 surfers and see them enjoying the perfect waves and offshore winds that we expect every April in Panama. We are looking forward to a great event!"

Panama has consistent waves all year long, both along the Pacific and the Atlantic coasts. The warm tropical climate and friendly people make it a perfect destination for this highly competitive surfing event, which will feature the best Under 18 Boys, Under 16 Boys and Under 18 Girls in the world.

The exact break where the event will be held is going to be announced soon. Stay logged to

After nine years, surf brand Quiksilver will no longer be the title sponsor of the ISA World Juniors. The ISA appreciates and thanks all of those at Quiksilver, led by Chairman Bob McKnight, who made this long-term partnership with the ISA possible. The ISA will announce a new title sponsor soon.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011, and the first World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 69 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).