Quiksilver Announces Invitees For 2008/2009 The Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau

Huntington Beach, California, November 4, 2008 — Quiksilver is pleased to announce the 2008/2009 Invitees and Alternates for The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau and the official launch of the event website at Quiksilver.com/eddie.

Scheduled to take place at the hallowed grounds of Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, between December 1, 2008, and February 28, 2009, the event, otherwise known as "The Eddie", requires one day with a minimum of 20-foot surf (Hawaiian scale) in order to run. It is the world's most prestigious big-wave surfing event and is the only big-wave surf contest sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the governing body of professional surfing.

Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, the The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau gathers 28 of the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the world as polled by a comprehensive panel consisting of influential watermen, members of the surf industry, and internationally recognized surfing Associations.

The first memorial event for Aikau was held in 1984 at Sunset Beach, two miles north of Waimea Bay. It was won by local standout Denton Miyamura. Following the inaugural event, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau moved to Waimea Bay, where it has remained ever since. 2008 marks the event's 24th anniversary; in only seven of those years have the waves been big enough and the conditions right to hold the contest.

In the realm of big-wave riding, the name Eddie Aikau commands as much respect as Waimea Bay itself. Aikau was the North Shore of Oahu’s first lifeguard, watching over the Bay when he wasn’t charging the biggest waves of the winter. Tragically, he lost his life in 1978, at the age of 33, during a re-creation of the Polynesian voyage between Hawaii and Tahiti. In huge seas, the voyaging canoe Hokule’a was capsized. Eddie paddled off in an attempt to reach help for his fellow crewmen. He was never seen again but his spirit and legacy live on.

The complete list of Invitees and Alternates for this year's event are available online at www.quiksilver.com/eddie. The website also includes photos and video from previous year's events, Invitee profiles and swell updates. Visitors can sign up to receive text updates for the "Official Contest Call" and watch online when the Bay calls the day.

Andy Irons
Brian Keaulana
Brock Little
Bruce Irons
Carlos Burle
Clyde Aikau
Darryl Virostko
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie O'Brien
Jamie Sterling
Kelly Slater
Keone Downing
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Michael Ho
Noah Johnson
Peter Mel
Ross Clarke-Jones
Rusty Keaulana
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Tom Carroll
Titus Kinimaka
Takayuki Wakita JPN
Grant Baker ZAF
Ramon Navarro CHL
Ibon Amatriain SPN

Kala Alexander (Aikau Pick)
Garrett McNamara
Darrick Doerner
Reef McIntosh
Tony Ray
Anthony Tashnick
Paul Patterson
Nathan Fletcher
Kalani Chapman
Dave Wassel
Taylor Knox
Evan Slater
Pancho Sullivan
Derek Ho
Danny Fuller
Chava Greenlee
Keoni Watson
Manoa Drollet
Myles Padaca
Tony Moniz
Ross Williams
Ken "Skin Dog" Collins
Koby Abberton
Laurie Towner

Mark Foo
Todd Chesser
Tiger Espere
Jay Moriarty
Peter Davi

Collectible limited-edition The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau merchandise, including boardshorts, t-shirts, hats, sandals and backpack, are also available online at www.quiksilver.com/eddie and in Quiksilver stores.

About Quiksilver
“Quiksilver is committed to providing tools for uncovering, expressing and expanding your personal style. Our aim is to foster the sense of individual expression and excitement – the stoke that is the essence of boardriding*.  We’re also here to spread the word because the only thing better than finding stoke is sharing it.

Boardriding is about timing and style. It's youthful, active, casual, and free flowing.  There is no wrong way to ride a board. The goal is simply to learn, progress, improve, and give it your own interpretation.”