Quiksilver Pro Durban Gearing Up For Start Next Week

April 4, 2008 (Durban):  Top surfers from all over the world are set to converge on Durban – Surf City – for the annual Quiksilver Pro Durban Six Star Prime World Qualifying Series surfing event. The event is set to run from 11 – 20 April 2008. World Qualifying Series Surfers from all over the globe will be arriving in Durban in a bid to win their share of the points and prize money on hand.

On top of this a number of top 45 World Tour surfers have entered as well, to safely secure their places on the 2009 World Tour. These surfers will join the South African surfers from both tiers of the surf tour who will be competing on home ground.

The success of last year’s event, coupled with the excellent waves and weather that were present for the entire contest period, definitely played a large part in attracting many competitors back to Durban. Surfers from all over the world also commented on the hospitality and friendliness of Durban and the locals, as well as the efficiency and professionalism of the inaugural event, as major reasons for returning to Durban.

The Quiksilver Pro Durban is clearly setting itself up for bigger and better things in the future, and Quiksilver South Africa is committed to continue bringing the best event possible to the surfers of the world.

The South African World Tour surfers have all entered the event, and they comprise Royden Bryson (East London), Ricky Basnett (Bluff) and Travis Logie and Jordy Smith from Durban. Travis and Jordy will have the distinct advantage of surfing at their home break in front of local supporters, family and friends. Jordy was runner-up in the inaugural event last year.

They will be joined by the red-hot South African WQS crew comprising the likes of Brandon Jackson (Durban North), Warwick Wright (Durban), Antonio Bortoletto (Durban), Davey Weare (Durban), Greg Emslie (East London), Gavin Roberts (Scottburgh), Keegan Nel (East London) and Rudy Palmboom from the Bluff to name but a few.

The international crew include the likes of former world champion (2000) Sunny Garcia from Hawaii who will be representing with long-time Hawaiian friend Mike Ho’s son, Mason Ho. Another top Hawaiian surfer and winner of the 2007 O’Neill World Cup Of Surfing at Sunset Beach in Hawaii, Makuakai Rothman will also be in attendance at the event.

European surfers Tim Boal (France), Russel Winter (UK), Joan Duru (France) and Tiago Pires who is a World Tour surfer hailing from Portugal, will also all be competing in the event. South America is represented by the likes of Rodrigo Dornelles and Fabio Gouveia, two surfers who are used to World Tour podium places and WQS victories alike. They are joined by World Tour representatives Jihad Khodr and Leonardo Neves.

North America has a plethora of entries, ranging from big –wave hellman Peter Mel, to the energetic Gudauskas brothers Dane, Patrick and Tanner, to Stirling Spencer and Brian Toth, who actually hails from Puerto Rico.

Australasia has great representation with the likes of Corey Ziems, Jay Thompson, Leigh Sedley, Yadin Nicol, Nic Muscroft, Phil MacDonald, air freak Josh Kerr, former World Tour surfer Shaun Cansdell and ex-Durbanite Shaun Gossman. Adrian Buchan, who is a top 45 surfer, will also be competing along with World Tour compatriot Ben Dunn.

Top Japanese surfers representing Asia in the event are Shota Nakamura and Masatoshi Ohno, as well as Joe Tanaka and Izuki Tanaka. Like a United Nations of surfers, this event will bring together the different cultures as well as different surfing styles and approaches along the way to finding a 2008 Quiksilver Pro Durban champion.

To watch the event live log onto the event mini-site on QuikProDurban.com and follow the webcasting link. The web commentator team comprises former world champion Martin Potter, and former long-time WCT competitor Jake Paterson, as well as mix of competitors and Quiksilver South Africa team members.