Quiksilver Pro Kicks Off At Duranbah At 8am Today

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Roxy Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Stop No. 1 of 11 on the 2008 ASP World Tour
Stop No. 1 of 8 on the 2008 ASP Women’s World Tour
Snapper Rocks, Coolangatta, Australia
February 23 – March 5, 2008

COOLANGATTA, Australia (Saturday, Feb. 23, 2008) – The start of the 2008 ASP World Tour is upon us and the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by LG will send Round 1 out at 8am local time in clean two-to-four foot (1 metre) waves at Duranbah Beach.

Although the prime venue for the Quiksilver Pro is Snapper Rocks, bother the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro presented by LG have the ability to go mobile to nearby breaks such as Kirra, Greenmount and today’s venue at Duranbah.

“The winds are northwest today which is bad for Snapper, but it’s clean and only slightly side-shore around the corner at Duranbah Beach where the surf is around about two-to-four foot when the swell is coming in,” Rod Brooks, Quiksilver Pro Event Director, said.  “We’ll be running the opening round of the men’s today and the wind is looking to be coming from a more southerly direction this afternoon, which is good for D’Bah.  It’s looking like these conditions will be the best we’ll get over the next couple of days so we’ll try to run as many heats as possible.”

When Quiksilver Pro competition commences, it will be Bobby Martinez (USA), Royden Bryson (ZAF) and Jihad Khodr (BRA) battling it out in the opening heat of the season.

Reigning ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) will take on Michael Campbell (AUS) and Komunity Project Trials Champion Tamaroa McComb (PYF) in Heat 8, and highly-touted rookies Dane Reynolds (USA) and Jordy Smith (ZAF) will enjoy their inaugural heats as ASP Top 45 members today.

The Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast will be webcast LIVE via http://www.aspworldtour.com/quikpro

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG Round 1 Match-Ups
Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA), Royden Bryson (ZAF), Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 2: Dean Morrison (AUS), Daniel Wills (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Bruce Irons (HAW), Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 4: Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 5: Andy Irons (HAW), Frederick Patacchia (HAW), Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Neco Padaratz (BRA), Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS), Michael Campbell (AUS),Tamaroa McComb (PYF)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 11: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 13: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA), Ben Dunn (AUS), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 15: Damien Hobgood (USA), Luke Munro (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 16: Luke Stedman (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Jordy Smith (ZAF)