Quiksilver Punta De Lobos Invitational


Presented by Suzuki, LAUNCHES BIG WAVE WORLD TOUR IN CHILE Event organizers target biggest day of swell during two-month holding period beginning April 1, 2010

The Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta De Lobos big wave event, presented by Suzuki, launches the 2010-2011 Big Wave World Tour and will bring together many of the world’s top big wave riders, as well as 10 of Chile’s best. The Big Wave World Tour is made up of five events in Chile, Peru, Oregon (USA), California (USA), and Mexico.

The total prize purse for this year’s event will be US$30,000, with US$10,000 going to the winner.

The Quiksilver Ceremonial returns to the beach-side region of Pichilemu, home to Chile’s most famous big wave rider, Ramon Navarro, and an area that was heavily hit by last month’s earthquake and tsunami.

“The resilient corps of big wave surfers who will make the journey to Punta de Lobos for this year’s Quiksilver Ceremonial carry not only their boards but a humanitarian spirit as well,” says Contest Director Gary Linden. “After such a sensational season here in the Northern Hemisphere, it’s time to follow the winter south and keep the Big Wave World Tour rolling.” This one-day big wave event will be staged on the biggest day of surf within the designated holding period that commences April 1 and runs through May 31, 2010.www.quiksilver.com

EVENT INVITEES (Listed alphabetically by last name.)  Grant “Twiggy” Baker (South Africa) – Defending Champion of this event.Chris Bertish (South Africa) – 2010 Maverick’s Big Wave champion, California. Carlos Burle (Brazil) Ryan Cabezas (Chile) Kohl Christensen (Hawaii) Danilo Couto (Brazil) Shane Desmond (Santa Cruz, CA) Shane Dorian (Hawaii) Cristóbal Gonzalez(Chile)Mark Healey (Hawaii) – 2010 Todos Santos Big Wave Champion, Mexico.Greg Long (San Clemente, CA.) – 2009 Quiksilver Eddie Aikau Champion, Hawaii.
Diego Medina (Chile)
Peter Mel (Santa Cruz, CA.) Cristian Merello (Chile) Marcos Monteiro (Brazil) Ramón Navarro (Chile) – ‘Monster Drop’, 2009 Quiksilver Eddie Aikau, Hawaii. Jamie Sterling (Hawaii) León Vicuña (Chile) Gabriel Villarán (Peru)Dave Wassel (Hawaii) Fernado Zegers (Chile) GANADOR DE “TRIALS” (winner from Chilean trials) GANADOR DE “TRIALS” (winner from Chilean trials) GANADOR DE “TRIALS” (winner from Chilean trials)