Remaining Teams Announced For ISA China Cup

Diane De Souza

Diane De Souza from team Brazil. Photo: ISA

Remaining Six Teams Are Announced For The ISA China Cup

Brazil, France, Hawaii, Japan, Portugal and USA Join Australia and Peru as the 8 Invited National Teams in the Second Annual Competition on Hainan Island, China

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival
January 25 to 30, 2013
Wanning, Hainan, China

The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce that the ISA China Cup, which is the first event of the ISA's Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival, has confirmed the remaining six teams that will be competing in China from January 26 to 27. The National Teams are representing Brazil, France, Hawaii, Japan, Portugal, and USA. These Teams will join Peru and Australia's National Surfing Teams to complete the eight total teams that will be contending for the ISA China Cup.

"There's only a few days to go before the Opening Ceremony and the ISA China Cup begin. All eight National Teams have been announced and the surfers have begun to arrive in Wanning," remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. "The surfers will be practicing at the world-class left point break at Riyue Bay in preparation for the competition that begins on Saturday. Great waves and warm weather are welcoming the delegations. As I like to remind all athletes, at the ISA China Cup, while a few competitors will go home with medals, all of them are already winners, as they are surfing as members of their National Surfing Teams."

The Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will officially begin on Friday with the Opening Ceremony and Parade of Nations. The following day, the first day of the ISA China Cup will kick-off the competition and on Sunday, the champions will be crowned. Following the ISA China Cup will be the ISA's Hainan Classic, 4-Star Men's ASP, with a prize purse of $95,000 US, which will take place from January 28 to 30, and will feature the best surfers in the world, including defending Champion and ASP World Tour surfer Glenn Hall, competing for a berth on the ASP World Tour.

The event will be webcast live on

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 72 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA's four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).