Results From The Killer Dana Stomp

The Annual Killer Dana Stomp – sponsored by Billabong and Von Zipper – was held Sunday, August 5 at Salt Creek. A building swell and 3-5 foot waves greeted the local contestants who battled it out for bragging rights in the lefts off Creek Point. Action in all divisions was intense and highly competitive as many of Orange County’s top surfers came to try and take the crown. To add to the excitement, thousands of spectators showed up to watch the Stomp and see the finals of the Surfing Magazine Airshow which was also sponsored by Billabong and Killer Dana. This event was taken by Salt Creek local Josh Sleigh who owned the final and took $3000.

In the boy’s division, despite breaking the nose on one board and the fin on another, Ian Ekberg charged his way to first, holding offChristian Homan. The waves in the boy’s final were the best of the entire event providing overhead walls for everyone. In the juniorsfinal, Trevor Traut used local knowledge to find the best waves and upset Hans Homan. It must be noted that the Homan brotherswere blowing minds in freesurfs between heats and many spectators thought that they were actually airshow contestants, not localgroms battling for the Stomp title. The Men’s division had a impressive group of contestants and was tightly fought all day. In theend, Kyle McCarthy found the best waves to take down Ian McPhilips, Chad Mitchell, and Dave Boehne in a very tight heat. TheMasters division of the Killer Dana Stomp always involves the most bragging rights between competitors – most of them have beensurfing together for a decade or more – and this year was no exception. The final was the tightest of the day. In the end, GeorgeMayou defended his crown, winning on a countback over Killer Dana owner, Chris Andrews who had been ripping all day. TheKaamaina (over 40) final was taken by an elated Phil Johnson who picked off the few sets that came in during the heat to hod off MarkPrice.

The division winners all advanced to a superheat final to determine the overall Stomp King. The waves decided to cooperate duringthis special heat and solid sets provided an opportunity for the division winners to really go off. Boy’s winner Ian Ekberg jumped outto a quick lead throwing backside tailslides on his noseless board and punting wreckless airs in the shorebreak. Kyle McCarthy founda couple of solid waves which he ripped to the sand to overtake Ian and climb into first place. Then, just before the five minute horn,Masters champ George Mayou found the wave of the event which he tore apart all the way down past the judges scaffolding. Thebeach erupted in hoots and applause as announcer Ryan Divel announced the perfect 10’s. That wave was the difference and gaveGeorge Mayou the title of Stomp King for 2001.

Special thanks to all the participants, sponsors, judges, and everyone else who brought this event together. Special thanks to GT andMike Parsons of Von Zipper, Bobby Lockhart and Graham Stapleberg at Billabong, Dave Schulte, Ryan Divel, Snowy, and DarrenBrillhart who put on an incredible event. See you next year!


1.Ian Ekberg
2.Christain Homan
3.Matt Howe
4.Marty Weinstein
5.Matt Johnson
6.Ryan Carter

1.Trevor Traut
2.Hans Homan
3.Ryan Franze
4.Mike Leach
5.Guy O’Connor
6.Justin Munyon

1.Kyle McCarthy
2.Ian McPhilips
3.Chad Mitchell
4.Dave Boehne
5.Brandt Bacha
6.Bane Wessel

1.George Mayou
2.Chris Andrews
3.Lawrence Quiqley
4.John Munson
5.Sean Grubbs
6.Eric Diamond

1.Phil Johnson
2.Mark Price
3.Oscar Stephenson
4.Mike Howard
5.Craig Purkus
6.Greg Arnette