Results From The Last Volcom Starfish Of The Season


The last Starfish for the season was held on October 27, 2001 at 54th street in Newport. The waves were 2 to3feet and peaky. This was a double rated event so all divisions were filled, about 72 showed up to compete andbattle for the Championship prizes and trophies. The top 5 of every division qualified for the VQS*Championships in March 2002. Everyone who won this event also won the season!


Zach Keenan from Cardiff drove up to take the $200, snowboard, and the first place trophy. Zach just edgedout Dave Post, who had a couple of sick airs in the final. Brett Simpson from Huntington Beach made the finalsin the Men’s and Junior’s divisions. He had back-to-back semis and finals. He destroyed the competition in theJunior’s division and took the trophy along with the snowboard. The ultimate Grom Max McIlwee won theevent and the season by winning every Starfish contest during the season. He also walked away with a K2snowboard, an Aleeda wetsuit, and tons of other prizes. Thanks for a great season and be sure to check out theVQS* Championships in March 2002. The 2002 Starfish qualifiers are listed below the photos. All finalratings will be posted on within the next week.

Thanks to all of our product sponsors: DVS, Electric, Aleeda, Vestal, Ocean & Earth, Mountain High Resorts,Consolidated Skateboards, K2, Astrodeck, Becker (skateboards), Sexwax, and Sector 9.


Results of Starfish #4

1. Zach Keenan ($200)
2. Dave Post ($50)
3. Josh Hoyer
4. Brett Simpson
5. Pat Towersey
6. Nick Nevarez

1. Brett Simpson
2. Ian Calderon
3. Steven Przybylowski
4. Alex Knost
5. Kyle La Point
6. Tommy Holbrook

1. Max McIlwee
2. Jason McIlwee
3. Andrew Doheny
4. Travis Puffield
5. Brighton “Bones” Brandenberger
6. Joey Mungo

2002 VQS* Championship Qualifiers


Zach Keenan
Dave Post
Josh Hoyer
Chris Burdine
Brett Simpson


Brett Simpson
Willie Saefreed
Chase Newsome
Kyle Lapoint
Tommy Holbrook


Max McIlwee
Jason McIlwee
Joey Munga
Andrew Doheny
Bert Farley