Rip Curl Boardmasters Called Off For Day 4

Rip Curl Boarmasters in association with Relentless
ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) Men's 5-Star event
ASP WQS European Series Stop No. 5 of 13
Newquay, Fistral Beach – England
5-10, 2008

Jean Da Silva (BRA), who lost in Round 4 yesterday, enjoying typical British tea time and a lay-day. Photo courtesy Aquashot/

NEWQUAY, England (Friday, August 8, 2008) – The swell dropped to two foot (0.5 meter) and with a new swell coming in for the weekend, surfers and officials decided to have a lay-day for this fourth day of the waiting period.

Twenty-four men remain in contention for the ASP WQS 5-Star crown and pressure is defintely upon those already well in position for an ASP World Tour spot. Consistent four to seven foot (1.2 to 2 meter) waves are expected to break at Fistral Beach from tomorrow afternoon and sunday's showdown should be epic. Rains and winds will come though with the new swell and testing conditions will make it tough for our last competitors.

Currently in the Top 20, Marlon Lipke (DEU), Leigh Sedley (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA) and others will be aiming at a win here that would ease their Dream Tour campaign quite a bit. Lipke, who is currently the best European on tour, has had a relaxed approach thus far and seems in excellent form to shine at Newquay.

Officials and surfers will meet at 12.00 tomorrow Saturday, August 9, to get things back on. Some four foot (1.2 meter) waves are expected to reach Fistral Beach by lunch time and the eight 3-man heats coming up will be worth watching the action LIVE.

Enjoy all videos, photos and podcasts through and

The Rip Curl Boardmasters in association with Relentless is webcast LIVE at

Heat 1: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Marlon Lipke (DEU), Jarrad Sullivan (AUS)
Heat 2: Gavin Roberts (ZAF), David Weare (ZAF), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP)
Heat 3: Patrick Beven (FRA), Leigh Sedley (AUS), Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 4: Jay Quinn (NZL), Chris Davidson (AUS), Wiggoly Dantas (BRA)
Heat 5: Pedro Henrique (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 6: Yadin Nicol (AUS), Bobby Hansen (NZL), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 7: Brent Dorrington (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Diego Rosa (BRA), Nic Muscroft (AUS), Pablo Paulino (BRA)