Santa Surf Pro Called Off, Top Seeds Readying For 7:30 A.M. Start Friday

Santa Surf Pro
ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star Prime Event
ASP WQS European Series Stop No. 12 of 13
San Juan, Lanzarote – Canary Islands
October 14-19, 2008

ASP International head judge Perry Hatchett (in yellow) discussing with current ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) No. 4 Patrick Gudauskas (San Clemente, Ca, USA) who will surf in Heat 4 when Round 2 resumes. Photo courtesy Aquashot/ASP Europe

SAN JUAN, Lanzarote (Thursday, October 16, 2008) – It was a day of hope and patience at San Juan but the conditions never improved throughout the day. Surfers and officials eventually decided to give San Juan another chance and come back tomorrow Friday, October 17 at 7:30 a.m. (GMT+1) to possibly get Round 2 started.

The forecast rise in swell is definitely confirmed for tomorrow night but the first pulses were witnessed today during the incoming tide and everyone is looking forward to seeing the famous lefthander deliver some consitent waves and see the world’s best surfers attack the walls and secure valuable ratings’ points.

Top seeds, including defending champion Patrick Beven (FRA) who will surf in Heat 8 against ASP Top 45 member Aritz Aranburu (EUK), will paddle out tomorrow to get things running and some big upsets and great action is expected to take place on Lanzarote’s North Shore.

The Santa Surf Pro is webcast LIVE at

Heat 1: Heitor Alves (BRA), Franito Saenz (CNY), Bobby Morris (USA), Ruben Gonzalez (PRT)
Heat 2: Pablo Paulino (BRA), Nic Muscroft (AUS), Eric Rebiere (FRA), Justin Mujica (PRT)
Heat 3: Marlon Lipke (DEU), Austin Ware (USA), Flynn Novak (HAW), Marco Goirgi (UGY)
Heat 4: Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Nathan Hedge (AUS), Rowan Aish (NZL), Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 5: Travis Logie (ZAF), Mike Losness (USA), Casey Brown (HAW), Gavin Gillette (HAW)
Heat 6: Yadin Nicol (AUS), Sunny Garcia (HAW), Norman Landa (EUK), Mason Ho (HAW)
Heat 7: Drew Courtney (AUS), Adam Robertson (AUS), Owen Wright (AUS), Alain Riou (PYF)
Heat 8: Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Patrick Beven (FRA), Clint Kimmins (AUS), Ola Eleogram (HAW)
Heat 9: Nathaniel Curran (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Bobby Hansen (NZL), Luke Campbell (AUS)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Dion Atkinson (AUS), Wesley De Souza (USA), Evan Valiere (HAW)
Heat 11: Brian Toth (PRI), Shaun Cansdell (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF)
Heat 12: Tiago Pires (PRT), Eneko Acero (EUK), Sam Page (AUS), Blake Howard (USA)
Heat 13: Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Vincent Duvignac (FRA), Hodei Collazo (EUK), Anthony Walsh (AUS)
Heat 14: Simao Romao (BRA), Leigh Sedley (AUS), Kyle Knox (USA), Jean-Sebastien Estienne (BLM)
Heat 15: Greg Emslie (ZAF), Joan Duru (FRA), Che Stang (USA), Ezra Sitt (HAW)
Heat 16: Hugo Savalli (REU), Kekpa Bacalso (HAW), Jesse Merle-Jones (HAW), Shaun Burrell (USA)
Heat 17: Leonardo Neves (BRA), Dane Gudauskas (USA), Jean Da Silva (BRA), Christophe Allary (REU)
Heat 18: Gabe Kling (USA), Nathan Yeomans (USA), Clancy Dawson (AUS), Anthony Petruso (USA)
Heat 19: Hizunome Bettero (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS), Abdel El Harim (MAR), Travis Mellem (USA)
Heat 20: Daniel Ross (AUS), Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), David Richards (ZAF), Oli Adams (GBR)
Heat 21: Blake Thornton (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRE), Romain Laulhe (FRA), Txaber Trojaola (EUK)
Heat 22: David Weare (ZAF), Joel Centeio (HAW), Joao Guedes (PRT), Tonino Benson (HAW)
Heat 23: Phillip MacDonald (AUS), Shaun Gossmann (AUS), Brad Ettinger (USA), Ricardo Dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 24: Jay Thompson (AUS), Echedey Mederos (CNY), Rudy Palmboom (ZAF), Thomas Bady (FRA)