Sunny and the boys clean up.

From the airlines that charge exorbitant fees for surfboards to Carl Kam, the owner of the venerable Kammie’s Market, Triple Crown season is a financial boon to the North Shore of O’ahu-estimates put the dollar amount of revenue to O’ahu at a whopping ten million dollars. Says Mr. Kam of the season: “Oh man, it’s so busy this time of year. This is when I make all of my money! Do you want a hot dog?”

The Vans Hawai’ian Pro

It’s generally understood that you don’t mess with Sunny Garcia-especially at Hale’iwa. And Sunny, who weighed 37 pounds more than the next finalist, absolutely dominated “his” break during the twentieth running of the Hale’iwa contest.

Garcia was the last of the four surfers to catch a wave in the final, but when he did, it was a smoker and netted him an 8.17. On his second wave, Sunny beat the wave into submission like it had been checking out his wife for 8.57 points and a win.

“I’ve had a long relationship with this wave-it’s for sure my favorite wave,” said the 2000 World Champ. “Last year I was starting to doubt myself after two knee surgeries, so it’s nice to be winning again.”

Official Results For The Vans Hawai’ian Pro At Hale’iwa

1. Sunny Garcia (HAW) $15,000

2. Phil MacDonald (AUS) $8,000

3. Bernardo Pigmeu (BRZ) $6,000

4. Bruce Irons (HAW) $4,000

The O’Neill World Cup Of Surfing

After a disappointing early round loss at Hale’iwa, Andy Irons’ name was hardly mentioned in Triple Crown title talk. But there’s one thing everyone should know about AI-don’t ever count him out. And because the Triple Crown title is given to the combined highest placing surfer in three events, he shouldn’t have been counted out with Sunset and Pipe looming.

The final was a glimpse into the past, present, and future of professional surfing, and with two regular-foots and two goofies in the mix, it was a perfect opportunity to see the contrast between backside and frontside surfing at what is considered one of the most challenging waves on the planet.

In the end, however, a rarely ridden left at Sunset offered up a quick tube, and with Andy on his backhand, he milked it for all it was worth, weaving all the way to “Val’s Reef” and straight to the winners podium.

Official Results Of The O’Neill World Cup Of Surfing

1. Andy Irons (HAW) $15,000

2. Mark Occhilupo (AUS) $8,000

3. Fred Patacchia Jr. (HAW) $6,000

4. Joel Parkinson (AUS) $4,000

The Rip Curl Pro Pipeline Masters

The Pipe Masters can be wrapped by saying three words: Wildcard Jamie O’Brien. For the third time in the history of the Pipe Masters, a wildcard won (Bruce Irons won in 2001, Johnny-Boy Gomes won in 1997). Jamie, who lives closer to the actual wave than the judges were positioned, used his innate local knowledge to take the final by storm. He had two incredible waves under his belt before another competitor in the four-man final had even paddled for one.

In terms of Hawai’ian surfing, it was a clean sweep: Jamie won the Pipe Masters, Sunny snagged his sixth Triple Crown, Bruce Irons ensured that he’ll be on the ‘CT next year, and Kalani Robb solidified his position as one of Hawai’i’s best.

Official Results For The Rip Curl Pro Pipeline Masters

1. Jamie O’Brien (HAW) $30,000

2. Sunny Garcia (HAW) $16,000

3. Kalani Robb (HAW) $11,000

4. Bruce Irons (HAW) $9,000

For a more comprehensive Triple Crown report, North Shore slide shows, and Pipe Masters video clips, go to