Taj Burrow Wins First Stop Of Nixon’s 2010 WTA


ENCINITAS, CA- Taj Burrow (AUS) was awarded the winner of Nixon's first WTA stop of 2010 for the "Highest Heat Score" during The Billabong Pro Jefferys Bay last week.

Waves from trials to finals counted towards this years crowning of the WTA winner at JBay, which left the title open to all surfers during the contest. Early on it looked like Jay "Bottle" Thompson (AUS) was going to come out on top having scored a 10 and 8.33 for a total score of 18.33. It wasn't until round 4, heat 5 that things started to change when Taj Burrow was pitted against Tiago Pires (PRT).  Taj made work of the perfect conditions in the right hand point break and went on to post a 9.77 and 9.10 for the highest heat score (18.87) of the week.

As this years WTA JBay winner, Taj was awarded a custom Nixon 51-30 watch valued at over $10,000 USD. This one-of-a-kind watch features a custom engraved case back, a Swiss tide movement, and emeralds at the hour indices.

Previous Nixon WTA Jeffreys Bay Winners for Highest Heat Score have included:

2009- Dane Reynolds
2008- Taylor Knox
2007- Kelly Slater

Video content from the WTA Jefferys Bay is available to view now on billabongpro.com.

About the Nixon WTA

Now in its fourth consecutive year, The Nixon WTA is a winner-takes-all event which awards custom, limited edition Nixon timepieces at three stops along the ASP World Tour and one stop of the Women's World Tour, the Billabong Pro in Maui. The four WTA challenges include: highest heat score at Jeffreys Bay, South Africa, in July; heaviest wave at Teahupoo, Tahiti, in August; the overall Triple Crown winner on the North Shore of Oahu in December; and the highest heat score for the Women's stop of the WCT in Maui.