The 2003 SIMA Image Awards: And The Nominees Are …

The 2003 SIMA Image Awards: And The Nominees Are …

Every industry deserves an industry-recognition program and the surf industry has never had one — until now.

That’s where the SIMA Image Awards come in, a new program introduced by SIMA to recognize individual and company standouts for their contributions to the surf industry.

The purpose of the SIMA Image Awards is to identify the most influential companies and individuals in five categories and recognize them for their efforts to support and grow the surf industry in 2002.

The five nominees and winner in each category will be honored at the inaugural awards ceremony at SIMA Surf Summit 6 in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, May 15-18, 2003.

The SIMA membership was asked to submit candidates for each category, and the companies that received the most votes are the nominees presented here.

Now we need the input of surf retailers and surf-industry manufacturers, such as yourselves, to select the winners. Your vote will help determine which of the nominees receives the award in these five categories. Cast your vote now!

Click Here To Vote Now!


And The Nominees Are …

Print Ad Campaign of the Year
Awarded to the company with the most creative design and consistent brand message in a print ad campaign in 2002.

DC Shoes
Op Classic

Breakthrough Manufacturer of the Year
Awarded to the small- to midsize manufacturer that grew its business and increased brand appeal most in 2002.

DVS Shoes
Fox Racing
Lost International

Industry Achiever of the Year
Awarded to the individual at a surf company who contributed the most time and effort to his company and the surf industry in 2002.

Kevin Dunlap, DVS Shoes
Bob Hurley, Hurley International
Bob McKnight, Quiksilver
Paul Naudé, Billabong USA
Richard Wolcott, Volcom

Retailer of the Year
Awarded to the specialty retailer that showed significant involvement in and commitment to the industry in 2002.

Jack’s Surfboards, Huntington Beach
Local Motion, Honolulu
Quiet Flight, Cocoa Beach
17th Street Surf Shop, Virginia Beach
Surf City Surf Shop, Wrightsville Beach

Manufacturer of the Year
Awarded to the manufacturer that grew its current business and expanded into new categories or markets to contribute to the growth of the industry in 2002.

Billabong USA
Hurley International
O’Neill Clothing

Click here to cast your vote now!

The deadline for submitting your ballot is Thursday, May 1.