The 2011 Eddie Invitees Announced

Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau Announces Invitees & Alternates With Launch Of

December 1, 2011 to February 29, 2012

WAIMEA BAY, HAWAII – (Nov. 1, 2011) – launches today with the official announcement of the 28 coveted Invitees and 24 Alternates to this year’s Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau. You can find this year’s list, sign up for email alerts and follow Mark Healey’s weekly updates from Waimea Bay.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is the most venerated big wave surfing event on Earth, held at Waimea Bay, Oahu, on a single day during the Hawaiian winter when, and if, waves exceed the 20-foot minimum requirement. The official holding period for this year, the 27th annual, is December 1, 2011 through February 29, 2012.

“The Eddie” has upheld stringent wave height and surf quality requirements since its inception. It has only been held eight (8) times in the past 26 years, but those rare and special days are recognized as the most spectacular days in surfing history – for both surfers and spectators.

Modern technology, live webcasting and global media broadcast the Dec. 8, 2009 event, known as “Eddie’s Day”, to more than 100 million global viewers. The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau came close to running again this past winter, on January 20, 2011, but inconsistent 20-foot surf held it back.

Celebrating Surfing’s Greatest Modern Icon
Just 31 years of age when he was lost at sea during an ill-fated voyage of Hawaii’s Hokule’a double-hull sailing canoe in 1978, Aikau was a young man at the height of a career equally dedicated to big-wave riding and lifeguarding at historic Waimea Bay. Filled with a pure passion to ride giant surf, take care of his fellow man, and uphold his Hawaiian culture and family values, Aikau became the benchmark by which all big wave riders are measured.

“This event has created a life all its own and has come to stand for much more than just big wave riding,” said Quiksilver CEO Bob McKnight.

“Standing on the beach at Waimea Bay on January 20, surrounded by tens of thousands of spectators from around the world, we were disappointed to have to call a No Go. But when the crowd began to cheer, we knew it was the right call and that The Eddie represents something special that we all want to uphold.

“Eddie was a young man of character, integrity and incredible athletic ability. His story took surfing’s story across boundaries and around the world. Through his legacy, we look to inspire young generations of surfers for decades to come.”

Brock Little – HAW
Bruce Irons – HAW
Clyde Aikau – HAW
Dave Wassel – HAW
Greg Long – USA
Jamie O’Brien – HAW
Jamie Sterling – HAW
Kala Alexander – HAW
Kelly Slater – USA
Keone Downing – HAW
Kohl Christensen – HAW
Makua Rothman – HAW
Mark Healey – HAW
Michael Ho – HAW
Nathan Fletcher – USA
Noah Johnson – HAW
Peter Mel – USA
Ramon Navarro – CHL
Reef McIntosh – HAW
Ross Clarke – Jones – AUS
Rusty Keaulana – HAW
Shane Dorian – HAW
Sunny Garcia – HAW
Tom Carroll – HAW

Carlos Burle – BRZ
Grant Baker – ZAF
Jeremy Flores – EUR
Takayuki Wakita – JPN

Kalani Chapman – HAW
Garrett McNamara – HAW
Ian Walsh – HAW
Kahea Hart – HAW
Alex Gray – USA
Chris Bertish – ZAF
Mark Mathews – AUS
Shawn Dollar – USA
John John Florence – HAW
Danilo Couto – BRZ
Jamie Mitchell – AUS
Evan Valiere – HAW
Gabriel Villaran – PER
Danny Fuller – HAW
Keoni Watson – HAW
Ben Wilkinson – AUS
Diego Medina – CHL
Rusty Long – USA
Derek Dunfee – USA
Anthony Tashnick – USA
Ken Collins – USA
Kealii Mamala – HAW
Ross Williams – HAW
Tav Hannemann – HAW