The Billabong Pro Santa Catarina Is On!


World's Best Hit the Water for Rounds 3 and 4 Billabong Pro Santa Catarina

PRAIA DA VILA, Santa Catarina/Brazil (Wednesday, April 28, 2010) – With clean three-to-four foot (1 metre) waves on offer at the primary site of Praia da Vila, the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina has been called on today with the opening heat of Round 3 hitting the water at 7:15am.

Event No. 3 of 10 on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina expects a massive day of competition, preparing to run the 16 heats of Round 3 as well as the first four heats of Round 4.

"The surf has increased today and it's the cleanest we've seen it so we're planning an early start of 7:15am," Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We'll be monitoring conditions, but if it remains like this we're planning to run all of Round 3 and the first half of Round 4."

Up first this morning is current ASP World No. 4 Bobby Martinez (USA), 27, against Luke Munro (AUS), 27, in the opening heat of Round 3.

The Billabong Pro Santa Catarina will be webcast LIVE available via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 6: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)
Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Tom Whitaker (AUS)
Heat 8: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 10: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 15: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 16: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)