The Mavericks Surf Contest„¢ Returns for the 2004/2005 Season

November 22, 2004. Half Moon Bay, California. Building on a triumphant return last February, The Mavericks Surf Contest"¢ beckons the greatest big-wave surfers to compete on “the most dangerous wave in the world” again this winter season.

After a three-year hiatus, the Contest returned with a vengeance to Half Moon Bay on February 27, 2004. Heralded as “the Super Bowl of big-wave surfing” by Sports Illustrated and the “Holy of Holies” by the San Francisco Chronicle, two million television broadcast viewers and 15,000 spectators witnessed the crowning of champion Darryl “Flea” Virostko. Mavericks and Contest Director Jeff Clark were also featured on ABC News Nightline and in Stacy Peralta’s Sundance Film Festival-opening “Riding Giants,” distributed in theatres world-wide by Sony Pictures Classics this past Summer.

This season, event organizers have set a December 1 through March 31 Waiting Period and summoned a coveted list of competitors including the dominant “Flea,” 2003/2004 runner-up and Surfing Magazine editor Evan Slater, and big-wave legend Peter Mel, among other stand-outs.

Commented Contest Director Jeff Clark, “After our success last season in bringing back this world-famous contest, we’re looking to go even bigger this year. I think we’ll see some enormous waves roll through this season, and we’re ready to go—now we just wait for Mother Nature!”

Darryl Virostko
Kenny Collins
Ryan Seelbach
Evan Slater
Rodrigo Resende
Zack Wormhoundt
Peter Mel
Shane Desmond
Mike Gerhardt
Anthony Tashnick
Josh Loya
Randy Cone
Matt Ambrose
Russell Smith
Ross Clarke Jones
Grant Washburn
Eraldo Gueiros
Tony Ray
Carlos Burle
Brock Little
Ion Banner
Garrett McNamara
Greg Long
Shawn Rhodes

Shawn Barron
Ryan Augustine
Mike Brummet
Troy Virotsko
Jake Wormhoundt
Nacho Lopez
Danilo Couto
Grant Baker
Kevin Vanderpool
Doug Young
Marcelo Ulyssea
Andy Campbell
Tyler Smith
Noah Johnson
Pato Texeira