The Vans Triple Crown


November 12-December 20

Professional Surfing’s Ultimate Showdown  Series
Crowns ASP World Champions, More Than $900,000 Prize Purse

HONOLULU, HAWAII – Thurs. Sept. 23, 2010 – The global surf community will return to the North Shore of O’ahu, Hawaii, November 12 through December 20, for the 28th annual Vans Triple Crown of Surfing , presented by Rockstar Energy Drink. The series will crown the 2010 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) world champions, as well as the men’s and women’s Vans Triple Crown champions, and individual event champions. More than 200 of the world’s best surfers will compete for more than $900,000 in prize money, coveted titles, and ultimate prestige.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is renowned for pairing surfing’s top talent with Mother Nature’s most spectacular winter waves. The series is staged at three of the most venerated surf spots on the planet: Haleiwa, Sunset Beach, and the Banzai Pipeline.

This year, for the first time, the final stage of both the men’s and women’s Triple Crown titles will come down to razor-edged drama at Pipeline in the men’s Billabong Pipe Masters and the Vans women’s Duel for the Jewel. The Duel for the Jewel is a specialty event that offers $55,000 and features the top four women contenders based upon results from the first two events of the Triple Crown. Results from all three events will then be combined to reveal the women’s Vans Triple Crown champion.

On the world title front, a battle royal is brewing among the ranks of the ASP as the tour closes in on its Hawaiian finale. The top five men battling for the title are 9X ASP world champion Kelly Slater (USA); Jordy Smith (South Africa’s first men’s world title contender since Shaun Tomson in 1977); Taj Burrow (Australia); Dane Reynolds (USA); and Mick Fanning (Australia). The top five women contenders are: Stephanie Gilmore (Australia); Sally Fitzgibbons (Australia); Silvana Lima (Brazil); Sofia Mulanovich (Peru); and Chelsea Hedges (Australia).

Live HD Webcast, Live Broadcast, Great App:

All of the action will be webcast live daily in HD over the internet at the newly launched official site: , where content is already rolling out. To catch the action on the go, fans can download the official Vans Triple Crown of Surfing app – launching Nov. 1 – from the iTunes store and watch the events live on the iPhone and iPad over 3G orWiFi. The series will also be broadcast live  on television around Hawaii on Oceanic Time Warner Digital Cable channels 250 and HD1250.


Stop #1: Haleiwa Ali’i Beach Park
Men’s Reef Hawaiian Pro
$145,000 6-Star ASP Qualifying Series Prime event
Women’s Cholo’s Hawaiian Pro
$35,000 6-Star ASP Qualifying Series event
Holding period: Nov. 12-23, to be held on the best five days of surf during the period.

Stop #2: Sunset Beach
Men’s O’Neill World Cup of Surfing
$145,000 6-Star ASP Qualifying Series Prime event
Women’s Gidget Pro
$100,000 ASP World Tour event
Will determine the 2010 women’s ASP world champion.
Holding period: Nov. 24-Dec. 6, to be held on the best five days of surf during the period.

Stop #3: Banzai Pipeline
Men’s Billabong Pipe Masters
$400,000 final ASP World Tour event, celebrating 40 years in 2010!
Will crown the 2010 ASP world champion and the Vans Triple Crown champion.
Vans Women’s Duel for the Jewel
$55,000 specialty event featuring top four women’s Triple Crown contenders after Haleiwa  Sunset events. Will determine the women’s Triple Crown champion.
Holding period: Dec. 8-20, held on the best three days of surf during the period.

In 1983, former world surfing champion and State Senator Fred Hemmings created this three-contest series to showcase the world’s best surfers in the North Shore’s world-class waves.

“The concept was to focus attention on three of the world’s most prominent surfing competitions held in unquestionably the most competitive and awesome surfing venues anywhere,” explains Hemmings. “The Triple Crown represents the true measure of a professional.”

Since then, the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing has gone from being a sideshow to the Association of Surfing Professionals world tour, to being it’s grand finale and crowning moment.

Combine all of Hawaii’s illustrious pro sporting competitions and you still won’t match the history, drama, danger and prestige of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing: the world’s premier pro surfing series.

Making the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing presented by Rockstar Energy Drink possible: Reef, Cholo’s, O’Neill, Billabong, Gidget Worldwide, Nixon, Turtle Bay Resort, Hawaiian Airlines, Oceanic Time Warner Cable, JN Automotive Group, Surfing Magazine,, Hawaiian Springs Water, Road Runner, Climb On! chemical-free skincare, Skullcandy, Clif Bar, and the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP).