Transworld SURF And Team O’Neill Win 2008 “Battle Of The Brands”


After last years debacle of a performance, team Transworld SURF came into the Battle Of The Brands without all the banter and shit-talking that may have cursed us last year. The stealth approach paid off as we took home the first place trophy and an ad buy from PacSun worth $10,000. Oh wait, you don’t care about a bunch of office-arm-paddling-fat-guys-who-think-they-rip?

Didn’t think so…

Held in a team style format, the 2008 Battle Of The Brands went down yesterday at Huntington Beach Pier in 3-foot, rippable conditions and saw team O’Neill repeat as champions. The Battle Of The Brands s a tag-team format event, which pits eight, four-person teams consisting of two professionals, a woman and a grom under the age of 18. The only brands invited to compete are the USA Surf Team's Official Sponsors.

Aside from bragging rights, the winning brand will get a window display in every PacSun store nationwide during the Spring of 2009. This event is Surfing America's way of giving back to PacSun and all the brands that have supported the organization over the years.

2008 Rosters:

O'Neill (2007 and 2008 Champions)
Tanner Guduaskas
Pat Guduaskas
Nat Young (USA Surf Team Member)
Malia Manuel

Sterling Spencer
Cory Arrambide
Kolohe Andino (USA Surf Team Member)
Courtney Conlogue (USA Surf Team Member)

Brett Simpson
Yadin Nicol
Evan Geiselman (USA Surf Team Member)
Dazie Goodwin

Mason Ho
Shea Lopez
Riley Metcalf
Leilani Gryde

Julian Wilson
Dylan Graves
Tyler Newton
Sally Fitzgibbons

Rip Curl
Austin Smith-Ford
Kyle Ramey
Alex Smith
Amy Nicholl (USA Surf Team Member)

Media teams include:

Transworld SURF 2008 Champions
Justin Cote
Chris Cote
Aaron Checkwood
Charlie Anderson

Travis Ferre
Marty Thomas
Scott Chenoweth
Pete Taras

Marc Beaty
Jon Warren
Robin Walker
Kevin Wallis

Rick Irons
Grant Ellis
Brendon Thomas
Chris Mauro

Fuel TV
Matt Beacham
Shannon Waller
John Stouffer
Eric Locko