Video: Billabong XXL Ride Of The Year Nominees

I’m thinking Ryan Hipwood’s air drop at Shipsterns for Ride Of The Year. Who’s your pick? Let us know in the comment box below!

The nominees have just been announced for the 2009 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards. Regarded as the Oscars of surfing, the Billabong XXL Awards recognize the athletes who ride the biggest and best waves over the last year everywhere in the world, based on the photographic evidence. The ninth-annual event hands out over $130,000 in cash prizes in an array of categories including the Ride of the Year, the XXL Biggest Wave, Monster Paddle and Monster Tube.  Here are the nominees for the Ride Of The Year Category, check all the rides on

Ryan Hipwood XXL Big Wave Awards

Rayn Hipwood at Shipsterns Bluff….HEAVY!