Volcom Blowfish Contest Scores In Oceanside

Volcom Stones Blowfish Surf Series
South Jetty, Oceanside
November 7th, 2009
Held in 3-5ft rippable surf

The second stop of the Blowfish Surf Series went off in fun 3-5ft rippable surf at South Jetty, Oceanside this last weekend. Year after year we seem to score amazing surf for this event and this year was anything but lacking waves and competitor presence. After the long line of early morning entries subsided, we sounded the horn for the first heat of the day to get under way. In the Groms division little super charger Kairi Noro who seemed unstoppable in the early round. He put on a great performance throughout the day and ended up in fourth in the final as Trevor Thorton claimed the victory in the Grom Divison. Also, having a break through performance was dark horse Heather Jordan as she cleaned up in the Girls division and scored a heap of prizes for her win. Nick Fowler found himself in the winners circle after a hard fought heat in the Juniors final. The $500 first place prize for Pro-Am had all six finalist scraping untill the final horn blew. However, in the end it was local boy Duran Barr who claimed the cash, a grip of goodies and 1,000 points towards qualifying for the 2010 VQS World Champs.


1. Duran Barr $500.00
2. Jeremy Sherwin
3. Richie Collins
4. Ryan Burch
5. Tanner Long
6. Gabe Garcia

1. Nick Fowler
2. Dale Timm
3. Bobby Okvist
4. Christian Arballo
5. Jared Cassidy
6. Ian Garcia

1. Trevor Thorton
2. Scott Weinhardt
3. Colin Moran
4. Kairi Noro
5. Jake Marshall
6. Hunter Smith

1. Heather Jordan
2. Cassidy Wehsner
3. Marissa Shaw
4. Shelby Detmers
5. Meah Collins
6. Jenny Quam

Electric Volt Thrower
Duran Barr $50