Volcom Starfish Series Results From Goldenwest Street In H.B.

Well it was another all day affair at Volcom Stone’s Starfish surf series that broke attendance records again with over 130 competitors battling it out 7 p.m. at night. The Grom division was over-filled with 60 competitors. These kids came down and they wanted to compete. We were not going to tell them no!

The beach at Goldenwest, H.B. on August 23rd was crowded! Full of competitors and spectators alike. We were also blessed with a south swell which generated some fun 3 to 5 foot peaks.

The Grom division was a hard fought 5 round event. Logan Strook dominated the final and brought the competition to its knees with his top three scores. The second highest wave score was from Kyle Kennelly, but he could match it with two more high scoring waves. The burton snowboard went to Logan for his long day at the beach.

Juniors division had a well rounded field. The volcom juniors, consisting of Joey Mungo, Ian Tucker, and Daniel “Mini Post” Shea, ripped the field early with there first place early heat showings. They couldn’t match the attack of Eddie Lester who went home with a ton of volcom goods and a Sector 9 skateboard.

At the end of the long day it was time for the Pro-Am final to go out at around 7:00pm. Shaun Ward felt right at home at his beach of Huntington and it showed with his domination of the rounds before the final. He came up short though with a 3rd place finish. New-comer to the Starfish final Josh Nicastro took the second place 50 bucks and a consolidated deck home. Volcom Brazil’s own Marcelo Trekinho earned a nice $200 for the day and helped him out by acquiring some spending cash for his trip to Japan.

Thanks to all who attended and the sponsors who stoked out the kids. Remember the VQS* championship will be in May 2004, so earn those important points to qualify.


1. Marcelo Trekinho $200
2. Josh Nicastro $50
3. Shaun Ward
4. Adam Popp
5. David Neira
6. Jordan Carter

1. Eddie Lester
2. Daniel Shea
3. Matt Mohagen
4. Joey Mungo
5. Ian Tucker
6. Joey Head

1. Logan Strook
2. Kyle Kennelly
3. Jason Harris
4. Shana Sariva
5. Tyler Stanaland
6. Allan Kincade