Volcom Stones Goldfish Surf Series Results

Volcom Stones
Goldfish Surf Series
Press Release


Run For Cover! The Final Event of the Goldfish Surf Series was greeted with cold, rainy weather and rough seas. However, the un-inviting conditions didn’t hold back the 100 plus competitors who came down to do battle in the whipped up sea to earn themselves a qualifying spot at VQS Championships.

The Grom Division was a great day of rivalry between the local Pismo kids and the boys of Santa Cruz. In the Final it was came down to Nat Young, Colin Duncan, and Robert Curtis. Colin surfed solid throughout the day, but came up short in the final and finished third place. Nat Young raised hell and posted some high scores, but finishing in a close second to Robert Curtis. Robert took the win and earned 2000 points in the ratings, a bag full of gear, and Sector 9 Skatedeck. Eli Cole, Joe Ball, and Ashton Madeley rounded out the final.

In the Juniors final, it was also a mix of Pismo and Santa Cruz talent, but the kids of Santa Cruz dominated and took the one, two, three spots. It was T.J. Mikus in first, Matt Myers in a close second and Calder Deyerle in third. T.J. took home a Body Glove Full suit, a backpack full of gear, and custom trophy. Rounding out the final was Matt Gallagher, Walter Deyerle, and Tommy Plastino.

With rough conditions of the afternoon, the Girls Final looked tough, but taking charge and posting some high scores early was Amy Covert, she finished in a respectable second place to Jenny Quam. Jenny came on late in the final and took the victory winning herself a pair of Spy shades, backpack full of gear, and a Santa Cruz Skatedeck. Meredith Lockwood, Hayley Cameron and Tara Conway rounded out the final.

The Pro-Am Final saw some new faces, do to the fact that a few of the regular Pro-Am Finalist, like Zack Hartley, Walt Cerney, Nate Tyler and Hugh Soderquist were absent. In Zack case he’s out of the water do to a broken foot, but he still managed to come down and hang out with kids. It was still a stacked final with Pete Mussio, and Eric Soderquist starting off strong and battling for the $400 cash at stake. But to teveryone’s surprise, young Tom Mowry took charge in the final minutes racking up a 7.5 score to take the victory. It was Tom’s first Pro-Am final and his first win, earning himself $400 in cash, a bag of gear, and a custom trophy. Rounding out the final was Blake Howard, Dennis Rizzo, and Evan Boure.

Thanks to our sponsors: Body Glove, Globe, Spy, Red Bull, Da Kine, Sector 9, Santa Cruz, Sex Wax, Future Fins, Trader Joes, Franks Famous Hotdogs, Surfer, Surfing, TransWorld Surf, and Happy Magazine.

Special thanks to Red Bull for providing lunch from Franks Famous Hotdogs

Surf Photo’s courtesy of www.murdockphotography.com


1.Tom Mowry $400
2.Eric Soderquist
3.Pete Mussio
4.Blake Howard
5.Dennis Rizzo
6.Evan Boure

1.T.J. Mikus
2.Matt Myers
3.Calder Deyerle
4.Matt Gallagher
5.Walter Deyerle
6.Tommy Plastino

1.Robert Curtis
2.Nat Young
3.Colin Duncan
4.Eli Cole
5.Joe Ball
6.Ashton Madeley

1.Jenny Quam
2.Amy Covert
3.Meredith Lockwood
4.Hayley Cameron
5.Tara Conway