Volcom’s Goldfish Surf Series Kicks Off In Morro Bay

Volcom Stone’s
Goldfish Surf Series
The Rock-Morro Bay, CA
Aug 21, 2004

The Season Opener for the Goldfish Surf Series went down under sunny skies, glassy conditions and fun 2-4 foot surf. Despite the 4 Million swarming flies on the beach, over 120 competitors from up and down the coast showed up to test their skills in the water and even on the beach with some crazed beach brawling games. To top off the day there were free grinds provided by Red Bull and Frank’s Famous Hot Dogs.

The Grom Final saw some action packed surfing go down between all the boys. But in the end it would be Nat Young from Santa Cruz edging out Robert Curtis for the win. Nat walked away with a bag full of gear, and a Sector 9 skate. Rounding out the final was Kokoro Tomatsui, Eli Cole, Christian Ramirez and Colin Duncan in that order.

In the Juniors Final it was a battle to the end between Nic lamb, Tim Pfannestiel and Matt Myers. At the horn it would Matt Myers claming the win by half a point, with Nic in second and Tim in third. Austin Smith-Ford, Calder Deyerle and Matt Johnson finished out the final in that order.

In the newly added Girls Division, some impressive surfing went down between the surf divas of the Central Coast. Young Hayley Cameron from Cayucos took the win and claimed a bag full of assorted girly gear. Jamie Hannula finished a respectable second with Amy Covert in third, Jackie Olson finished fourth.

The Air Division was won by Santa Cruz wonder-kid Nic Lamb. Nic beat out Eric Soderquist, Nick Kovak, Hugh Soderquist, Dustin Ray, and Brian Aresco. He won $50 bucks, a Sector 9 skate, and some free goods.

Lets Get In On! The Pro-Am Final was an all out battle for the $400 cash first place prize. Zack Hartley threw down some heavy blows and ended up in a respectable third with Hugh Soderquist fighting to the end and locking himself in the second place position. It would be the big fin free turns and solid airs of an untouchable Nate Tyler that earned him the win and $400 in cash, a Santa Cruz Skate, and a grip of gear.

Thanks to our sponsors Spy, Body Glove, Red Bull, Globe, Sector 9, Santa Cruz, Da-Kine, Sex Wax, Trader Joes, Franks Famous Hotdogs, Surfer, Surfing, Transworld Surf, and Happy Magazine.

Pro-am1.Nate Tyler $400
2.Hugh Soderquist
3.Zack Hartley
4.Dennis Rizzo
5.Brian Aresco
6.Nate Ybarra

Air1.Nic Lamb $50
2.Eric Soderquist
3.Nick Kovack
4.Hugh Soderquist

1.Matt Myers
2.Nic Lamb
3.Tim Pfannestiel
4.Austin Smith-Ford
5.Calder Deyerle
6.Matt Johnson

1.Nat Young
2.Robert Curtis
3.Kokoro Tomatsui
4.Eli Cole
5.Christian Ramirez
6.Colin Duncan

1.Hayley Cameron
2.Jamie Hannula
3.Amy Covert
4.Jackie Olson