Watch The Quiksilver Pro NY Live Now!


Jadson Andre. Photo courtesy ASP World Tour

Watch The Quiksilver Pro New York Live Now!
ASP World Title Event No. 6 of 11
Long Beach, Long Island, New York USA
September 5 – 15, 2-11

Quiksilver Pro New York Round 1 ON in Building Swell, Round 2 on Standby

LONG BEACH, Long Island/New York (Tuesday, September 6, 2011) – The inaugural Quiksilver Pro New York will commence this morning with Round 1 of competition beginning at 8am.

Event No. 6 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Quiksilver Pro New York is beginning to see the first positive swell signs from Hurricane Katia this morning, and the world's best surfers will do battle for the very first time in the Big Apple.

"Conditions have cleaned up significantly today and we only expect them to improve throughout the morning," Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. "Round 1 competition will commence at 8am, and Round 2 will be on standby. Good luck to all our competitors today."

Up first this morning will be Joel Parkinson (AUS), 30, Brett Simpson (USA), 26, and Travis Logie (ZAF), 32, in the opening heat of the Quiksilver Pro New York.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Quiksilver Pro New York, are calling for Hurricane Katia to set up rising SE swell today. Solid swell from Hurricane Katia is expected during the second half of the week before fading into the weekend.

The Quiksilver Pro New York will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dane Reynolds (USA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Asher Nolan (USA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS), Balaram Stack (USA)
Heat 7: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 8: Bede Durbidge (AUS, Chris Davidson (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 9: Michel Bourez (PYF), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)