XBOX Pipeline Masters Looks To Tuesday Start

Monday, December 9 – (Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii)¿Small waves of just four feet, coupled with strong trades urged officials to call a layday in competition today for the Xbox Pipeline Masters¿the third and final men’s event of the 2002 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

A forecast increase in swell and better conditions are expected tomorrow, Tuesday, December 10, and officials hope to get underway then with a full day of trials competition. Thirty-two trialists comprising of local Pipeline specialists and international Pipeline specialists will be competing for two wildcard entries into the main event of the $250,000 event (see trials heat draw below).

Coming into this event, Australian Joel Parkinson leads the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Series ratings, closely followed by Hawaii’s Sunny Garcia. The men’s Triple Crown champion after three events will receive and additional prize purse of $7,500 and a Ford Ranger FX4 truck.

The third and final women’s event of the Series, the Billabong Pro Maui, is currently on hold awaiting one final day of competition. Australia’s Neridah Falconer led the Series ratings heading to Maui, closely followed by Hawaiian Keala Kennelly, but was yesterday eliminated by Kennelly in the third round of competition. Kennelly is now poised to take the title of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing champion which carries a $7,500 purse.

Draw for Men’s Xbox Pipeline Masters Trials Heats:

H1: Ross Williams (Haw), Rizal Tandjung (Bali), Myles Padaca (Haw), Kamalei Alexander (Haw)

H2: Richard Sills (SAfr), Kalani Chapman (Haw), Brian Pacheco (Haw), Jamie Sterling (Haw)

H3: Conan Hayes (Haw), Manoa Drollet (Tah), Didier Piter (Fra), David Cantrell (Haw)

H4: Naohisa Ogawa (Jpn), Strider Wasilewski (Haw), Tory Barron (Haw), Joel Tudor (USA)

H5: Fred Patacchia (Haw), Noah Johnson (Haw), Mikala Jones (Haw), Jonah Morgan (Haw)

H6: Derek Ho (Haw), Kahea Hart (Haw), Takayuki Wakita (Jpn), Braden Dias (Haw)

H7: Jamie O’Brien (Haw), Christian Fletcher (USA), Tamayo Perry (Haw), John Gomes (Haw)

H8: Pancho Sullivan (Haw), Mark Healy (Haw), Rob Machado (USA), Danny Fuller (Haw)