Freestyle Surfers Shane Dorian, Tyler Fox Nominated for Big Wave Awards

OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE – Freestyle, the original action sports watch manufacturer, would like to congratulate pro team riders Shane Dorian and Tyler Fox on their nominations of the 2008 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards presented by Monster Energy.

The 2008 Global Big Wave Awards will honor elite international surfers for their best photo or video captured within the past 12 months. Over 500 images were entered and nominations were secured by votes from the surfers, photographers and videographers who produced them. Being nominated for such an exclusive and prestigious award is an accomplishment in and of itself. Awards will be given in six categories, including: "Billabong XXL Ride of the Year Award", "Billabong XXL Biggest Wave Award", "Monster Paddle Award", "Monster Tube Photo Award", "Surfline Best Overall Performance Award" and "Billabong Girls Best Performance Award".

Freestyle Surfer Shane Dorian is nominated for Billabong's 2008

Freestyle's Shane Dorian has been nominated for the "Billabong XXL Ride of the Year Award". The award will be won by the surfer with the best performance on a big wave caught on video. Dorian's epic session on November 1, 2007 at Tahiti's Teahupoo break was caught on video by Gustavo Camarao. The surfer/videographer duo to win this award will walk away with $50,000 and $5,000, respectively. Other surfers nominated in this category include Michael Brennan, Carlos Burle, Manoa Drollet and Ian Walsh.

Tyler Fox has secured a nomination for the "Billabong XXL Biggest Wave Award". Should he win the award he will receive $15,000 and a Honda Aquatrax watercraft with HSA sled. Photographers Mike Jones, Bart Keagy, Wayne Kelly and Dave Nelson along with videographers Bruno Lemos and Graham Nash could also win the photo/video prize of $4,000.

Winners will be announced on April 11, 2008 at the invite only award ceremony held at the Grove Theater in Anaheim, CA. Be sure to watch the live webcast at 7:00pm PST, airing on <> and also on <> , to see if Freestyle's team riders have what it takes to win.

To check out Dorian and Fox's Freestyle profiles visit the official Freestyle site, HERE.

About Freestyle
Founded in 1981, Freestyle is a leading action sports watch manufacturer. The Freestyle watch collection includes a full line of performance and lifestyle choices for men, women and youth, all styles are water resistant to 100 meters or more and backed by a limited lifetime warranty. With roots firmly planted in surf, Freestyle proudly sponsors a team of highly respected surfers including Shane Dorian, Cory Lopez, Sage Erickson and 2006 ASP World Women's Longboard Champion Schuyler McFerran. For more information, visit