Mavericks Invitational Competitors Announced

Elite List of Competitors for Mavericks Invitational Announced

Press Release:

Mavericks Invitational presented by GoPro© has released the official list of competitors and alternates for the 2013-14 season.
On just 24 hours notice this winter season, 24 big-wave surfers will make the trek to Half Moon Bay, California, to test their skill and vie for the title of Champion of the Mavericks Invitational. Competitors will face the dangerous elements of the frigid northern California waters in search of the perfect ride on massive waves.
This year's list of nominees was determined by committee of five comprising Mavericks pioneer Jeff Clark, Big Wave World Tour founder Gary Linden, three-time Mavericks champion Darryl Virostko, and respected big wave surfers Greg Long and Shawn Dollar. The list of nominees was sent to last year's competitors and alternates, who then voted for their top picks.

Contest organizers announced that the contest waiting period will open on November 1, 2013, and run through March 31, 2014. Organizers have secured the permit from the San Mateo County Harbor District for this year and through 2016.

"We're all stoked to be back for another year," said Clark. "The 2013-14 season looks promising, with a lot of positive changes made for the competitors and fans. The perfect contest day we're looking for is typically a northwest groundswell between 18 and 20 feet (translating into waves faces of 30- to 40-feet)."  The contestants receive the famous green light alert and have approximately 24 hours to arrive for the event.

The 24 Competitors: 2013-14 Mavericks Invitational
Ryan Augenstein  (Santa Cruz, CA) Nic Lamb  (Santa Cruz, CA)
Grant Baker  (South Africa) Greg Long  (San Clemente, CA)
Chris Bertish  (South Africa) Rusty Long  (San Clemente, CA)
Carlos Burle  (Brazil) Alex Martins  (Brazil)
Kohl Christensen  (Hawaii) Peter Mel  (Santa Cruz, CA)
Ken Collins  (Santa Cruz, CA) Ryan Seelbach  (San Francisco, CA)
Shawn Dollar  (Santa Cruz, CA) Jamie Sterling  (Hawaii)
Shane Dorian  (Hawaii) Anthony Tashnick  (Santa Cruz, CA)
Colin Dwyer  (Pacifica, CA) Grant Washburn  (San Francisco, CA)
Nathan Fletcher  (San Clemente, CA) Dave Wassell  (Hawaii)
Tyler Fox  (Aptos, CA) Ben Wilkinson  (Australia)
Mark Healey (Hawaii) Zach Wormhoudt  (Santa Cruz, CA)
The ALTERNATES: 2013-14 Mavericks Invitational
1. Shane Desmond  (Santa Cruz, CA) 4. Kelly Slater  (Cocoa Beach, FL)
2. Danilo Couto  (Brazil) 5. Tyler Smith  (Santa Cruz, CA)
3. Derek Dunfee  (San Diego, CA 6. Frank Solomon  (South Africa)
In addition, organizers have created a "Watch List" of big wave surfers who are pushing their skill level at Mavericks and in hot pursuit of an invitation to the contest. These surfers are highly respected and will be eligible for consideration for the next contest season:
Mark Alfaro Wyatt Fields Andrew Marr Shawn Rhodes
Ben Andrews Mike Gerhardt Garret McNamara Mike Schlebach
Ion Banner Alex Gray Jamie Mitchell Russell Smith
Shawn Barron Lance Harriman Travis Payne Tim West, Jr.
João deMacedo Josh  Loya Josh Redmond