Nixon Winner-Takes-All Series Kicks-Off In Brazil

Nixon is kicking off its 2012 Winner-Takes-All (WTA) series during The Billabong Pro May 9-20, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The four-part series will honor the "biggest air" at The Billabong Pro, with all surfers eligible from trials through finals.

Dates and details provided below:

ENCINITAS, CA – With Rio's punchy beach breaks plus the new, young blood on the 2012 tour, including big air specialists like John John, Kolohe and Miguel Pupo, The Nixon WTA Rio will be an exciting event to watch. It's anyone's game who will walk away the winner and dethrone Josh Kerr, last years WTA Rio champ.

Now in its sixth year, The Nixon WTA is a winner-takes-all event along three stops of the ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) World Tour and one ASP Men's 6-Star event during the 2012 season. Challenges in The 2012 Nixon WTA will range from Biggest Air, Highest Heat Score, Heaviest Wave and the overall Triple Crown Winner. The Nixon WTA looks to celebrate outstanding moments along these ASP stops that often get overlooked and overshadowed by whoever won the heat or event. Holding these "contests within a contest" adds another level of fun competitiveness along these high stress ASP stops. 

The Nixon WTA Rio winner will take home with him a custom Nixon 51-30 tide valued at over $10,000 USD. The winning timepiece will feature a sunray dial in yellow to represent the Brazilian flag, a high polish all black subdial/hands, the Brazilian flag at the 6 o'clock position and a diamond encrusted bezel.

Stops and challenges in The 2012 Nixon WTA will include:

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for Biggest Air May 9-20, 2012

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa for Highest Heat Score July 10-15, 2012

Teahupoo, Tahiti for Heaviest Wave August 16-27, 2012

Oahu, Hawaii for the Triple Crown Winner December 8-20, 2012


Video content of each of the WTA stops and winners will be available to view on