PacSun Battle of the Brands

surfingamerica-logo.gifOFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE – San Juan Capistrano, Ca –PacSun's Battle of the Brands is a tag-team format event which pits eight, four-person teams consisting of two professionals, a woman and a grom under the age of 18. The only brands invited to compete are the USA Surf Team's Official Sponsors. The high-profile event featuring top international athletes will take place at the U.S. Open of Surfing Surf Stadium on the southside of the Huntington Beach Pier, this Friday, July 20th at 1 pm.

Aside from bragging rights, the winning brand will get a in-store take over in every PacSun store window nationwide in the Spring of 2008. The inaugural event is Surfing America's way of giving back to PacSun and all the brands that have supported the emerging organization over the last three years.

A separate division will be held for the media sponsors of the USA Surf Team, in which four employees from each Surfer, Surfing, Transworld SURF, and Fuel TV will be competing for a $10,000 ad by from PacSun – the USA Surf Team's title sponsor.

"We are so pleased that the industry has rallied around the development of Surfing America and the USA Surf Team program–and this event is a celebration of that unity,” said Surfing America Executive Director Mike Gerard. “Support from SIMA, the industry’s top brands, and PacSun create the perfect storm that benefits everyone involved in growing the sport.

Surfing America is an industry-wide initiative committed to funneling the best youth surfing talent in the United States upward–and inspiring future world champions. And we’re honored to have the opportunity to present this event in support of our industry partners.”

Based on the following A-list rosters, it's apparent that each brand is gunning for the win. Here's the lineup of talent:

Benny Bourgeois
Jeremy Sherwin
Katarina Lyerly
Tonino Benson

Dane Reynolds
Clay Marzo
Sally Fitzgibbons
Tyler Newton

Rip Curl
Kekoa Bacalso
Adam Wickwire
Julia Christian – USA Surf Team Member
Adam Lambert

Jordy Smith
Cory Arrambide – USA Surf Team Member
Courtney Conlogue – USA Surf Team Member
Cody Thompson – USA Surf Team Member

Pat Gudauskas
Roy Powers
Kyla Lagen
Luke Davis – USA Surf Team Member

Shea Lopez
Mason Ho
Leilani Gryde
Riley Metcalf – USA Surf Team Member

Body Glove
Alex Gray
Mike Losness
Holly Beck
Granger Larson

The Media Teams are as follows:

Transworld SURF
Justin Cote
Chris Cote
Jamey Stone
Jeff Baldwin

Fuel TV
Brent Miller
Matt B Taylor
Shannon Waller
Derek Sung
AJ Collins
Logan Strook
Marc Beaty
Jon Warren

Rick Irons
Chris Mauro
Grant Ellis
Jeff Mull

Ross Garrett
Evan Slater
Travis Ferre
Scott Chenoweth

About Surfing America, Inc.
Surfing America is the ISA-recognized National Governing Body for Surfing in the United States. The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, Bodyboarding, and Surfriding

Surfing America Mission Statement
The Mission of Surfing America is to promote the growth, competitive success, and positive image of surfing in the USA and to provide the best possible experience for all participants by encouraging, developing, advancing, and administrating the sport–while producing champions.