Rip Curl Launches ‘On the Rock’ For Hawaiian Surf Season

OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE – International surfing company Rip Curl has launched a unique multimedia website that will chronicle the Hawaiian surf season this December and document the travels of the brand's leading professional surfers.

Rip Curl On The Rock will live online at from December 1 to 20, updated daily with video webisodes, feature articles, image galleries, blogs, surf reports and interactive message boards.

Hawaii's famous "Seven Mile Stretch" on Oahu's North Shore is the focus for the majority of the surfing world at this time of year and will be home base for the Rip Curl On The Rock production team while the website is live.

On top of documenting everything and anything that goes down at Pipeline, Sunset, Haleiwa and the other legendary North Shore waves, Rip Curl will also follow its team riders to other islands in Hawaii – chasing great waves, good times and exclusive unique content.

"We're really excited about taking our Search in Hawaii online this December," says Neil Ridgway, Rip Curl's Group Advertising and Marketing Chairman. "Rip Curl puts the majority of its focus on The Rock at this time of year and our team are all there competing to win events and score the best waves of their lives. We thought, why not showcase everything that happens, as it happens!"

"We were also with Stephanie Gilmore when she claimed her second ASP World Title on Monday, so we really are giving surfing fans around the world fresh, behind-the-scenes multimedia content online every new day."

Gilmore and 2007 ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) will feature heavily in the 20-day saga, as will Hawaiian locals Pancho Sullivan, Kekoa Bacalso, Koa Smith, Alex Smith, Alana Blanchard and shark attack survivor Bethany Hamilton.

Other Rip Curl team riders On The Rock include ASP World Tour competitors Taylor Knox (USA), Ben Dunn (AUS), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), Jacqueline Silva (BRA) and leading pro junior surfers Owen Wright (AUS), Bruno Santos (BRA), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Jean da Silva (BRA), Dean Brady (AUS) and Austin Smith-Ford (USA).

Log on to from December 1 to get involved.