Skateboarding Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Skateboarding Hall of Fame

The International Association of Skateboarding Companies (IASC) and Skatelab have announced the second annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame inductees. The honored skateboarders are Torger Johnson, Stacy Peralta, Steve Caballero, Eric Koston, Bob Burnquist, and Patti McGee, the first female inductee.

“Skateboardings rich culture has been built around iconic heroes that have helped to take skateboarding to another level of progression, inspiration, and fun,” said John Bernards IASC executive director. “IASC recognizes the importance of honoring the pros that made skateboarding what it is today-without the icons and legends the tricks skateboarders are doing today would not exist. This year’s inductees represent the best, most progressive skateboarding from 1960 to 2010 and we congratulate each of them on their accomplishments.”

To commemorate the inductees, an invite-only event will be hosted at The Cooper Building in Los Angeles, Calif. on December 4, 2010. The event will feature live music, and both a silent and live auction. Proceeds from ticket sales and the auctions will benefit the Go Skateboarding Foundation.

Last years Skateboarding Hall of Fame honored Tony Alva, Bruce Logan, Danny Way, and Tony Hawk.

“The goal of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Museum is to assure that these legendary skateboarders are recognized by their peers and will be remembered by future generations,” said Todd Huber, founder of Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Museum.

IASC members and skateboard industry insiders voted electronically on whom they thought should be inducted into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame. The ballot consisted of 10 names from each decade, along with a list of 10 females. Each category included a fill in the blank so voters could submit their own candidate.