Third Annual Red Bull Riders Cup HS Surf Tournament


It may have a new name, but don’t be fooled: this year’s third annual Red Bull Riders Cup – formally known as Red Bull High School Cup – kicks off its first game at Hermosa Beach, California on April 1st, with the same old rivalries of years passed.

Red Bull Riders CupThe National Surf League presents the Red Bull Riders Cup as the premiere high school
surfing tournament, bringing together the best young surfers in each region.

Thirty two schools from eight regions will battle it out in games sanctioned by the National Surf League until a champion is crowned.  The winner of each region will be invited to attend the national finals from June 13-15 for the chance to become the best high school surf team in the country.

The Red Bull Riders Cup will use "The Game" format for its tournament. The format is modeled after traditional team sports like basketball and football. The Red Bull Riders Cup is the first step to bringing a new outlook to the sport of surfing through the community and a structure people are familiar with. NSL founder Brad Gerlach says,

"The Game creates an easier understanding of surfing as a sport. The entire game spans less than two hours, with three periods, coaches and time outs. Family and friends are encouraged to come out and show support."

The Red Bull Riders Cup will feature professional surfers coaching each high school team during their competition. Some of the professional surfers include Jamie Sterling, Ian Walsh Adam Virs, Brett Simpson, Austin Ware, Jeremy Sherwin, Omar Etcheverry, Nate Yeomans, Ratboy,Peter Mel, Mike Losness and many more.

The National Surf League and Red Bull have partnered to help bring the sport of surfing to a new and exciting level. "The NSL and Red Bull are both companies that are passionate about innovation and bringing out the best performance in surfing. I am very excited to see how we will grow and create a more entertaining and easier way to watch the sport," Gerlach said.

The NSL is a revolutionary competitive surfing organization established in 2001 by legendary pro surfer, Brad Gerlach. The NSL is dedicated to the pursuit of surfing excellence, building awareness for the sport of surfing while creating a fun competitive landscape for all types of surfers.

Participating High Schools include:

South Bay:Mira Costa High, Redondo Union High, South Torrance High and Palos Verdes High.

Aptos High, Soquel High, Santa Cruz High, Harbor High and Scotts Valley High.

Golden State, Carpenteria High, Ventura High, Malibu High, Palisades High.

Orange County: San Clemente High, Huntington Beach High, Edison High and Newport Harbor High.

San Diego County: Carlsbad High, San Dieguito Academy, Torrey Pines High, Point Loma High

South Florida: Cardinal Gibbon High School, Calvary High School, Martin County High School and Jupiter High School.

Central Florida: Cocoa Beach High School, Satellite High, Melbourne High and Sebastian River High School.

New Jersey: Ocean City High, Atlantic City High, Manasquan High and Middletownship High.

Competition Schedule:
(West Coast start time 4:00pm/East Coast start time 3:30pm)

April 1-3/California-South Bay-Hermosa Beach
April 7-10 /California-Santa Cruz-Pleasure Point
April 15-17 / South Florida-Carlin Park, Jupiter
April 22-24/ Central Florida-Pelican Beach Park, Satellite Beach
May 6-8/ California-Golden State/Ventura- C-Street
May 13-15/ New Jersey- Ocean City 3rd Street
May 20-22/ California-Orange County- Huntington Beach Pier-South Side
May 27-29/ California-San Diego-Seaside Reef
*June 13-1/ California-TBD

For more information go to