Transworld Skateboarding Announces Nominees for 10th Annual TWS Awards

skate-awards-logo.pngOFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE – Oceanside, CA – May 16, 2008 – Transworld SKATEboarding, the world's number one skateboard magazine, announced the nominees for the 10th Annual Transworld SKATEboarding Awards today.  The winners will be named during a live event on June 13, 2008 at Avalon Hollywood.

The Transworld SKATEboarding Awards honor skateboarding's top riders, presenting eight awards to professional skateboarders in the categories of: Best Rookie, Best Street Skater, Best Transition Skater, Best Team, Best Video, Best Video Part, Best Two Video Parts, TWS Readers' Choice and the TWS Legend Award. The award winners are determined by polling more than 150 professional skateboarders worldwide with thousands of Transworld SKATEboarding's readers voting for the winner of the TWS Readers' Choice Award. This year's TWS Legend Award will be presented to one of skateboarding's biggest stars, Tony Hawk.  Previous winners of this prestigious award have included Mark Gonzales, Lance Mountain, and Steve Caballero.

To commemorate the 10th Anniversary, this year's TWS Awards will also include a ten-year photo slideshow featuring the most acclaimed photography, art direction, and storytelling in skateboarding.  Plus, the post awards party will kick-off with the world premiere of And Now, the newest film by Transworld SKATEboarding's Jon Holland and Chris Ray, featuring Sean Malto, David Gravette, Matt Miller, Richie Jackson, Kenny Hoyle, and Nick Trapasso.

"The TWS Awards have always been the biggest and best awards in skateboarding, and that's because it's the pros who decide who truly rose above for the year," says Eric Stricker, editor of Transworld SKATEboarding. "There isn't a more meaningful award than garnering that kind of respect from your peers. And with the level of skateboarding turned up thanks to the astronomical number of video releases in '07, whoever wins deserves to party that much harder."

Here are the official nominees for the 10th Annual Transworld SKATEboarding Awards:


Silas Baxter-Neal

Nick Dompierre

Shuriken Shannon

Stefan Janoski

Guy Mariano

Andrew Reynolds




Plan B


Habitat, Inhabitants

Lakai, Fully Flared

Osiris, Feed The Need


Silas Baxter-Neal, Inhabitants & eSpecial

Corey Duffel, Feed The Need & Cataclysmic Abyss

Stefan Janoski, Inhabitants & Nothing But The Truth


Dan Drehobl

Jake Duncombe

Emmanuel Guzman


Stefan Janoski, Habitat, Inhabitants

Guy Mariano, Lakai, Fully Flared

Omar Salazar, Nike SB, Nothing But The Truth


Mike Mo Capaldi

Marc Johnson

Guy Mariano


Tony Hawk

The 10th Annual Transworld SKATEboarding Awards is proud to be associated with sponsors: New Era, Stereo Sound Agency, Vans, and Zoo York. For more information on Transworld SKATEboarding and the Transworld SKATEboarding Awards, please visit

Transworld SKATEboarding has been the largest, most respected skateboarding magazine in the world for over 25 years.  Delivering the most innovative photography and cutting edge editorial, Transworld SKATEboarding offers readers an inside look at skate culture through news, product reviews and in-depth profiles of the world's top skateboarders, both in print and online at

Transworld SKATEboarding is published by Transworld Media, the world's leading action sports media company. Transworld is a subsidiary of the Bonnier Corporation. Bonnier Corporation is one of the largest consumer-publishing groups in America and the leading media company serving passionate, highly engaged audiences through more than 40 special-interest magazines and related multimedia projects and events.